GrayFace MM6 Patch v2.0 [Sep 21, 2015]

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
GrayFace
Archlich
Archlich
Posts: 1131
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

GrayFace MM6 Patch v2.0 [Sep 21, 2015]

Postby GrayFace » Jan 12 2009, 8:44

Here's the new version of my patch.
Here are the changes:
English: http://sites.google.com/site/sergroj/mm ... ReadMe.TXT
Russian: http://sites.google.com/site/sergroj/mm ... Me_rus.TXT
For modders: pay attention to "DataFiles" and "Custom LODs" changes.

MM6 Controls v1.1
Now you can set up controls in a graphical interface.
http://sites.google.com/site/sergroj/mm/MM6Controls.rar

Topics for MM7 and MM8 patches:
viewtopic.php?t=10078 - MM7
viewtopic.php?t=10240 - MM8
http://www.celestialheavens.com/forum/10/10423?p=281026 - MMExtension
Last edited by Anonymous on Sep 21 2015, 6:16, edited 33 times in total.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
Storm-giant
Minotaur
Minotaur
Posts: 693
Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Location: Torrelavega

Postby Storm-giant » Jan 12 2009, 12:54

So having awsd of movement keys is possible in yor patch, right?
Another question, after installing MM6 do I have to patch an official one before yours?
Great work GrayFace :applause:

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4004
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Jan 12 2009, 13:16

From what i can read, you don't...
You can either agree with me, or be wrong...

User avatar
GrayFace
Archlich
Archlich
Posts: 1131
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Jan 12 2009, 16:14

Storm-giant wrote:So having awsd of movement keys is possible in yor patch, right?

Right. Some keys may not be possible to change, but the AWSD is what this option was made for and it was tested by the person who wanted this change.

Storm-giant wrote:Another question, after installing MM6 do I have to patch an official one before yours?

Only if you have a localized version. If your version is English, just install my patch.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
GrayFace
Archlich
Archlich
Posts: 1131
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Jan 12 2009, 17:48

Oops. I uploaded an older version of the patch Dll. If you downloaded the patch please download this file: http://www.grayface.narod.ru/MM6patchUpd.rar and place it into MM6 home directory.
The links in the first post are updated.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
motter28218
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 118
Joined: 30 Sep 2007

Postby motter28218 » Jan 14 2009, 21:10

GrayFace wrote:Oops. I uploaded an older version of the patch Dll. If you downloaded the patch please download this file: http://www.grayface.narod.ru/MM6patchUpd.rar and place it into MM6 home directory.
The links in the first post are updated.


Does this work with Vista? I did a full clean install with the original game, then extracted your files and the game won't work. It work's with Mok's patch but not yours, did I do something wrong???

User avatar
DarthVadre
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 92
Joined: 18 Oct 2008
Location: United States
Contact:

Postby DarthVadre » Jan 15 2009, 11:53

I couldn't get it to install properly. I'm using Vista UE 64 bit.
Your perception determines your experience.

User avatar
GrayFace
Archlich
Archlich
Posts: 1131
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Jan 15 2009, 19:36

I haven't tried it on Vista. If setting compatibility to "Windows 95" or "98/Me" doesn't help try it with the MSS32.dll library from Mok's patch. I think it's the only thing that may be the cause.

Does it say something when it doesn't run?

motter28218 wrote:I did a full clean install with the original game, then extracted your files and the game won't work.

Did you run "MM6Patch Install.bat"?
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
motter28218
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 118
Joined: 30 Sep 2007

Postby motter28218 » Jan 16 2009, 9:29

GrayFace wrote:I haven't tried it on Vista. If setting compatibility to "Windows 95" or "98/Me" doesn't help try it with the MSS32.dll library from Mok's patch. I think it's the only thing that may be the cause.

Does it say something when it doesn't run?

motter28218 wrote:I did a full clean install with the original game, then extracted your files and the game won't work.

Did you run "MM6Patch Install.bat"?


When I click on MM6.exe it just says MM6 has stopped working, the game never starts. I ran install.bat, and added your upgrade patch, still the same thing. I't s not a big deal, just for my mod I wanted to make sure it would work with everyone who had installed your patch, I can still play the game with Mok's patch. Probably just a Vista thing, I've had alot of trouble running stuff on Vista, makes me wish I never upgraded.

User avatar
GrayFace
Archlich
Archlich
Posts: 1131
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Jan 16 2009, 14:57

Try to copy MSS32.dll from Mok's patch first. I can upload it if you don't have it installed.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
asterix15
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 107
Joined: 17 May 2007
Location: Holland

Postby asterix15 » Jan 30 2009, 10:49

Thanks

Jac
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 53
Joined: 02 Feb 2009

Postby Jac » Feb 2 2009, 12:02

Hi, I just have to register an account here to thank you for making this patch. I've tried all sorts of "fixes" for making this gem of a game run on Windows XP and none of them worked... except this.

It's running perfectly fine now, though there seems to be one tiny problem with the damage display on ranged attacks. Normally, when your character's attack connects, a message will be displayed like this (sort of):

"Victor deals 19 damage to Follower of Baa."


However, whenever it's my ranged attacks that connect, the message displayed is this:

"MT"


So what makes?

User avatar
Avonu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 3762
Joined: 06 Aug 2006
Location: City of Griffin
Contact:

Postby Avonu » Feb 2 2009, 22:11

This message is "normal" for ranged attacks in MM6-8.

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4004
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Feb 2 2009, 22:38

Avonu wrote:This message is "normal" for ranged attacks in MM6-8.


Not that I know of ;| ...
You can either agree with me, or be wrong...

Jac
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 53
Joined: 02 Feb 2009

Postby Jac » Feb 3 2009, 2:23

There is one more thing that I forgot to mention... why don't I hear footsteps anymore? I checked the game options and made sure footsteps were on, but I hear nothing. :(

User avatar
GrayFace
Archlich
Archlich
Posts: 1131
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Feb 3 2009, 15:50

Jac wrote:However, whenever it's my ranged attacks that connect, the message displayed is this:

"MT"

You have a localized version and used MM6patchLoc.rar, right? If there is a patch for your localization, try installing it prior to my patch. Or you can use mm6view or mm8leveleditor to change Global.txt file. Find the "MT" string there and replace it with "%s shoots %s for %lu points".

Jac wrote:There is one more thing that I forgot to mention... why don't I hear footsteps anymore? I checked the game options and made sure footsteps were on, but I hear nothing. :(

I've found a way to solve the footsteps problem. I'll add an option for this in version 1.3 which will be ready very soon.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

Jac
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 53
Joined: 02 Feb 2009

Postby Jac » Feb 4 2009, 0:43

Awesome! Fixed it with mm6view. Thank you so much. :)

namad
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 25
Joined: 15 Feb 2009

turn-based recovery bug

Postby namad » Feb 16 2009, 10:14

turn-based recovery bug... do any of the versions of your patch fix the turn-based recovery bug i've read so much about? i've having trouble wanting to play mm6 again in a world where all the skills and time modifiers end up doing nothing? cause there's supposedly the turn-based recovery bug and a bug to recovery related to armor as well?

User avatar
Variol
Pit Lord
Pit Lord
Posts: 1249
Joined: 05 Sep 2008

Postby Variol » Feb 16 2009, 11:17

All I know of is the editor you can use to increase the skill levels. This should offset the benefit you are not getting from the skill itself. I don't remember which skill offsets what ability though.

Here's a link for editors for MM6-8:

http://www.wvi.com/~hodge/M&M_Editor_Zips/

User avatar
GrayFace
Archlich
Archlich
Posts: 1131
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Feb 16 2009, 11:19

No. Mok's patch fixes shield and armor recovery bug and my patch inherits it. But no turn-based recovery fixes. As for me, I don't feel the presence of the bug and never heard about it before.

The new version is released.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests