GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1516
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

Postby GrayFace » May 25 2020, 20:38

MaxG2D wrote:
GrayFace wrote:What's your screen resolution? Is width bigger than 2000? If yes, that's due to a bug in DX7.

Yes, I'm running at 3440x1440. And BTW, if you want, I'll gladly test stuff for you, if you wish to properly support 21:9 aspect ratio.

Indeed, it's 1920x1440 for classic mode, while UILayout mode gets rendered at 1720x720 and then drawn with nearest-neighbor stretching.

MaxG2D wrote:Feel free to hit me up on Discord - MaxG3D#4323

Ok.

MaxG2D wrote:Thank you. I just would love to have better textures filtering and some MSAA, or something to increase the fidelity of the image.

Forgot to tell: Use Nvidia control panel applet/Radeon Software. I'm playing on AMD with all these set.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

Novi
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 25
Joined: 09 Sep 2018

Re: GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

Postby Novi » May 30 2020, 22:09

May not be the right place to ask this and I'm sorry if it's not, but I have 2 questions.

What tool would I have to use to get the party in my save file into the plane between planes?

And is the lloyd's beacon information stored in the single savefile?

I lost access to the place on my post-game save and I'd rather not start a new one, which is why I'm asking how to get there. I also have no idea how I lost the beacon's to the plane in the first place (and saved). I have a feeling it was actually me doing a clean reinstall of the game and GOG not syncing everything, but tell me if I'm wrong.

Btw the reason for me doing a reinstall is actually because for some reason, the new UI and high resolutions wouldn't work anymore (without me changing anything) if I ran the game normally. It would, if I ran the game through the setup utility (no compatibility), or if I ran the game itself with win xp sp3 or older compatibility mode. It didn't used to be like that so I was confused.

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1516
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

Postby GrayFace » May 31 2020, 18:30

Novi wrote:May not be the right place to ask this and I'm sorry if it's not, but I have 2 questions.

What tool would I have to use to get the party in my save file into the plane between planes?

I guess the easiest is writing eve.MoveToMap{Name='pbp.odm'} in MMExtension console (Ctrl+F1).

Novi wrote:And is the lloyd's beacon information stored in the single savefile?

There's a bug with lloyd images. If it's just absense of picture, the beacon should still work. Try recalling the slot where the beacon used to be.

Novi wrote:Btw the reason for me doing a reinstall is actually because for some reason, the new UI and high resolutions wouldn't work anymore (without me changing anything) if I ran the game normally. It would, if I ran the game through the setup utility (no compatibility), or if I ran the game itself with win xp sp3 or older compatibility mode. It didn't used to be like that so I was confused.

What happened if you ran it without compatibility?
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

Novi
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 25
Joined: 09 Sep 2018

Re: GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

Postby Novi » May 31 2020, 20:08

GrayFace wrote:What happened if you ran it without compatibility?

The game runs in software mode if I simply start mm8.exe. With both setup and mm8.exe being set to no compatibility and running the game through setup, it runs in hw mode (with your UI and other things).
GrayFace wrote:There's a bug with lloyd images. If it's just absense of picture, the beacon should still work. Try recalling the slot where the beacon used to be.

Thank you for the answer, though it is as you said. The Llyod's beacons are still there! Just no picture, no description of place, or days remaining. I click on the empty space and it teleports me. So strange.

Couple things to add: I'm on win 10 edu (should be latest update). Might and Magic 7 runs without compatibility mode in hw mode through mm7.exe.
Last edited by Novi on May 31 2020, 21:18, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1516
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

Postby GrayFace » May 31 2020, 21:33

Novi wrote:The game runs in software mode if I simply start mm8.exe. With both setup and mm8.exe being set to no compatibility and running the game through setup, it runs in hw mode (with your UI and other things).

Now that's strange. When it's set to HW is has to run in HW and possibly fail to create a device.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

Novi
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 25
Joined: 09 Sep 2018

Re: GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

Postby Novi » May 31 2020, 22:31

GrayFace wrote:
Novi wrote:The game runs in software mode if I simply start mm8.exe. With both setup and mm8.exe being set to no compatibility and running the game through setup, it runs in hw mode (with your UI and other things).

Now that's strange. When it's set to HW is has to run in HW and possibly fail to create a device.

I may even add more mystery to it now.

I changed borderlessfullscreen to 0 to get the old mode back. Since the introduction of borderless window (fullscreen) option, I couldn't get the old mode to work. It would always crash. Well, I started the game, it switched to fullscreen mode, immediately gave some kind of error (windows sound), but the screen stayed grayish. I had to turn off the program with task manager. Couldn't see the error message. This was with no compatibility if I'm not mistaken.

I then went on to test compatibility modes (to make this shorter, windows 95 up to windows xp sp3 do the same thing and vista to windows 8 + no compatibility also do the same thing, so really there are only 2 modes). On the win95 mode, the game would start, play intro, show copyright screen and when about to transition to the main menu, the game would crash and shut down.

So I went back to the "newer" compatibility modes and no compatibility and it started doing it again. The game would start! In software mode.

I swear, I can leave this game lying on my drive untouched for a year, and it'll always work differently when I try and play it :D could it be windows updates doing the mess? Is it also possible the game reads from different registry folder in old compatibility modes? I don't think so, it remembers binds and all the other settings, just uses sw mode.

Edit: Oh, I found out how to run it in old exclusive fullscreen mode. You also need to disable 32bit textures with TrueColorTextures=0.
Last edited by Novi on May 31 2020, 22:40, edited 2 times in total.

cthscr
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 101
Joined: 12 Jan 2020

Re: GrayFace MM8 Patch v2.4.1 [Sep 20, 2019]

Postby cthscr » Jun 1 2020, 17:00

GrayFace wrote:
Novi wrote:The game runs in software mode if I simply start mm8.exe. With both setup and mm8.exe being set to no compatibility and running the game through setup, it runs in hw mode (with your UI and other things).

Now that's strange. When it's set to HW is has to run in HW and possibly fail to create a device.

Oh, here's one of my favorites. Intel/Nvidia (and optimus...) here. Newly copied game can start once in HW mode (why? how?) and after that it always fails to find D3D device. Setting WinXP (SP2/SP3) compatibility helps (it happens on Win7 x64 and Win10 x64).


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests