Wog scripting question...

Official forum of the Wake of Gods mod to Heroes of Might and Magic III.
Oenomaus
Leprechaun
Leprechaun

Wog scripting question...

Unread postby Oenomaus » 11 Sep 2008, 14:45

Hi. Not sure if anyone looks at this section much or if this is the right place to ask a question but I was wondering if anyone could explain to me how exactly to go about making a generic script for an object. That is to say I have made a script for a specific object (type 63;63) but at the moment when a hero visits one of them, all of them are counted as visited (there are eight on the map). I assume I have to somehow find their coordinates using UN:N and perform a loop of some sort but can't think exactly how to go about this (this is my first attempt at programming of any sort...). The ERM tutorial only covers a single object at specific location and I tried looking at the built in scripts but could not understand them sufficiently...

I have been working on and off on a fairly epic map (in my opinion) since the release of Armageddon's Blade and want to finally provide some scripts for blank objects I have placed so as to finally finish it...

Any help would be much appreciated.

Salamandre
Genie
Genie

Unread postby Salamandre » 11 Sep 2008, 17:27

It depends of what the object gives to you: if it is a spell, do a check when visit and reset the flag is you already have the spell. Same for artefacts, but here you can cheat by removing it before.

For example, from my map:

!?OB43/44/0&1000;
!!HE-1:S12/?i;
!!VRz245&i=0:S^You visited the sanctuary. Here are your rewards^;(give necromancy, there are more lines to follow but is only an example)
!!VRz245&i>0:S^You have learned this,don't come here again!^;
....]

If the hero has already necromancy (S12) the object is visited. You can restreint the visits by fixing the precise number of the hero, so no any other hero can visit with !!HE$

If all objects 63/63 give the same thing, then script them as a single object.