How does HOMMV perform in your machine (pls list your specs)

The new Heroes games produced by Ubisoft. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.

Moderator: Moderators

How does HOMMV perform in your machine?

Great (I have an Nvidia card)
30
37%
Great (I have an ATI card)
20
24%
Acceptable (Nvidia)
12
15%
Acceptable (ATI)
10
12%
Unacceptable (Nvidia)
5
6%
Unacceptable (ATI)
5
6%
 
Total votes: 82

User avatar
ThunderTitan
Perpetual Poster
Perpetual Poster
Posts: 23266
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Now/here
Contact:

Postby ThunderTitan » May 18 2006, 22:39

OK, people that have brand new tricked out PC's. Does zooming slow down the game?
Disclaimer: May contain sarcasm!
I have never faked a sarcasm in my entire life. - ???
"With ABC deleting dynamite gags from cartoons, do you find that your children are using explosives less frequently?" — Mark LoPresti

Alt-0128: €

Image

User avatar
theGryphon
Spectre
Spectre
Posts: 716
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby theGryphon » May 18 2006, 23:55

I voted great. I posted this before but here are my system specs:
> Pentium M @ 2GHz (it should compare to at least P4 @ 2.5 GHz)
> 2GB RAM
> Nvidia Quadro FX Go1400 (a 6800 chip optimized for stability rather than performance)

I'm viewing at 1920x1200 with everything maxed. Eyecandy box checked.
Even at eye-level view there is no slow down, but moving around the map is slower. (Btw, I hate that moving around is slower with mouse, but this is a different story.) There is some temporary slow down when I first zoom out to the highest quickly. After a while it handles the situation, I guess there is a huge instantaneous load if you zoom out fast. These are for a fresh game though.
After having played for like 3 hours, maybe even less, the game starts to get a little choppy. Not much but you can tell, especially in eye-level and zoom-out views. At these times I can hear both my fans (CPU and GPU).
I believe in science and that science can explain everything.
Because God has made it all work in such a beautiful way...

User avatar
Nebs
Conscript
Conscript
Posts: 243
Joined: 21 Apr 2006

Postby Nebs » May 19 2006, 0:47

2GHz Celeron
512Mb RAM
NVidia GeForce FX5200 128Mb card

Acceptable. Or even excellent when I switched to very low visuals and 800x600, though change happened when I started playing Dungeon campaign. Hopefully performance improve on previous ones as well...remember Inferno's map full of trees and Necro's where you can curse towns...those were extremly laggy.

Also, those settings I have now might seem low, but I think game still looks great. Prolly those thoughts would've changed if I see the game on 1900x1200, very high visuals, eye candy, AA,...;)

trailMix
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 27
Joined: 06 Apr 2006

Postby trailMix » May 19 2006, 1:04

AnjinSan66 wrote:I voted:

Great (I have an ATI card)

It works as smoth as it could on my machine

DFI LP NF4 SLI-DR- X2 4400 0524RPMW-Thermalright XP120-4x512 OCZ3200ELPlatR2-SapphireX850XT-SilverstoneST65ZF

Now back to the game :D


With setup like that, it had better be!


I voted Great (NVIDIA card). I have:

DFI LP NF4 SLI-DR, Athlon64-3800+, Thermalright XP90, Nvidia GF6600GT, 2GB Corsair XMS (2x1GB), Enermax EG 475P-VE (475watt), Creative Audigy2 ZS, and it runs great at 1280x1024 with everything turned on to the max.

Now back to work :( :tired:

trailMix
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 27
Joined: 06 Apr 2006

Postby trailMix » May 19 2006, 1:07

ThunderTitan wrote:It runs aceptable if you don't move the camera or play it for too long. And that is stupid.

To the people that voted Great: you don't get any problems while zooming? Not even a small slow down?


I zoom in and out all the time (both in tactical, and strategic), but haven't noticed any slow down.

User avatar
asandir
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 15481
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: The campfire .... mostly

Postby asandir » May 19 2006, 1:31

Fact be true, NVidia currently makes the fastest cards on the market... faster then ATI


ahh wolfshanze ... i think you'll find your statement be wrong

the X1900 XTX 512 is about 4.5% faster than the GF 7900 GTX 512

check toms if you think im wrong (but im not)

so ati actually have the fastest card


anyway back on topic, i run an x850xt and get no problems on zoom in or out, or camera movement .... runs sweet (as it should with this type of card)

User avatar
Romanov77
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 272
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Romanov77 » May 19 2006, 6:10

I have a old Geforce fx 5200 256 mb, and the game runs very smooth on "Low" with the exception of big maps with lots of water or trees....

As proof of what Im saying, I get incredibly high fps in underground areas
And with the passing of strange eons, even death may die.

H.P. Lovecraft - gentleman, writer and dreamer.

User avatar
asandir
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 15481
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: The campfire .... mostly

Postby asandir » May 19 2006, 6:56

and that's as it should be romanov ... they wanted (and stated publicly) that the game should be playable on "older" machines, the 5200 definately qualifies on that score :proud:

User avatar
Sikon
Hunter
Hunter
Posts: 542
Joined: 22 Dec 2005
Location: Russia

Postby Sikon » May 19 2006, 12:05

It's interesting that ATI owners were quicker to respond, issuing about 6 more votes than NVIDIA owners, but then the scales got balanced and NVIDIA even got a slight advantage.

magritte2
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 85
Joined: 07 May 2006

Postby magritte2 » May 19 2006, 12:37

It looks as though the drivers may not be the biggest issue. The determinants are more the generation of card and what you consider acceptable. Personally, I would maintain that you don't need anywhere near the same frame rates on a turn-based game as you would in an action game for a pleasurable gaming experience.

User avatar
Qurqirish Dragon
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1011
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Flying the skies of Ohlam

Postby Qurqirish Dragon » May 19 2006, 12:48

I've got a Radeon x300, and have not noticed any slowdowns with most options turned on at "high" graphics quality.

I seem to recall that in the beta there was a performance hit when either activating or deactivating the "hardware cursor" option. (I don't recall which setting was the 'bad' one)
Those having problems may want to experiment with that as well.

User avatar
TinBane
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 28
Joined: 20 May 2006

Postby TinBane » May 20 2006, 4:48

My 9800PRO runs it great on my screen's standard 1280x1024 resolution on high. The only issue is I only have 512MB of ram, so it loads the insides of cities very slowly if I run it on higher than medium resolution. Getting 1GB this week though, should fix it up :)

To get good performance, make sure you:
Download the latest drivers for your GPU, mobo and sound card.
Turn of powersaving settings on laptops.
Scan for adware
Turn off unneccesarysystem processes.

User avatar
infael
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 147
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby infael » May 22 2006, 14:07

Am running at 1024x768 with very high grahics and AA off. I get a few dropped frames when the game's been running for a while.

I'll try the AA next time I play.

User avatar
TheInfested
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 May 2006

Postby TheInfested » May 23 2006, 3:30

running an Nvidia 5900 ultra perfectly with maxed settings .

User avatar
Milla aka. the Slayer
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 6274
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Location: Where Luna is: in the jacket

Postby Milla aka. the Slayer » May 23 2006, 9:00

Voted great. I'm playing the demo only so far and it's doing wonderful. Only noted thing: the Ubisoft logo in the beginning (just like Angelspit said). I have it on highest resolution and it's so smooth :)
Ahh, I'm so pleased with it... :tsup:
This minor magical charm captures the viewer's attention and distra... ooo, pretty...
- Dragon Age Origins

User avatar
Dublex
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 137
Joined: 20 May 2006
Location: Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Postby Dublex » May 23 2006, 9:54

Its good, as I have a mid range spec PC nowerdays, which is a P4 3.2Ghz with 1GB RAM and and ATI FX 5800 card (mid-range) and it runs well with High graphics. I suspect that it would run OK with Ultra graphics, but I haven't tried it yet.

I have to add this is why getting turn based strategies is nice compared to RTS / FPS games sometimes, as you can usually get more performance on machines that aren't top end.

User avatar
Sir Alock
Conscript
Conscript
Posts: 227
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Gloucester, MA. "Home of the Perfect Storm"

Postby Sir Alock » May 23 2006, 19:43

First off...This isn't a bad thread. Yes it may be a little flawed, but it let's many people know before hand just how the game runs (in general) Too many many people here that replied didn't take the time to list their specs.

My Specs:

Asus A8V Deluxe MB (V-2.0) VIA K8T800 Pro Chipset
AMD Athlon 64 3500 (90nm) Winchester Core
Thermaltake A1838 Silent Boost HS
1 GB Kingston Value Ram (PC3200) DC (512MBx2)
Teac CD-RW Drive
Teac 3.5 Floppy Drive
Seagate Barracuda 120 GB SATA HD (VIA VT8237)
Turtle Beach "Santa Cruz" Sound Card
eVGA 6800NU VC (128 MB) o/c 375/774 16/6 Enabled
Antec SX635BII Case w/ Enermax 385 watt PS 15A/15A Dual Rails
Vantec Stealth 80mm case Fans (3 each)
Boston Acoustics Digital BA-790 Speakers 2.1
Sony 19" LCD Monitor DVI (12ms) SDM-HS94P/S
WinXP Pro SP2

Anyway...Playing @ 1280x1024 (native res 19" LCD) @ maxed out details. Running very smooth. I might get a slight slowdown when a ton of trees are around. Other then that...My trusty & old eVGA 6800NU (Nvidia) is running HoMMV w/o any issues. Keep in mind, I was lucky enough to open up all 16 Pipes & 6 Shaders & o/c a tad w/o any troubles. Running Nvidia 84.56 WHQL drivers BTW.

Enjoy HoMMV! I know I am even with it's slight issues!

Alex

User avatar
DuRieL
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 126
Joined: 18 May 2006

Postby DuRieL » May 23 2006, 20:02

Specs:

- Pentium(R) 4 CPU [3.40GHz]
- Windows XP [Service Pack 2]
- RAM Mem. [1024]
- ATI Radeon x700 SE [256] ---Latest Drivers---

Notes: The game runs solid with all the settings maxed out. I don't have any slowdowns when there are lots of trees, but the lowest view angle lags out, though I understand it is meant mainly for screenshots and the like.

However... I have noticed memory leaks, which cause massive slowdowns to the point of warping. Maybe this will get fixed in a patch? :disagree:

The way things are now, you can play solid 1-4 hours [depending on what you're doing] before things get messy 'cause of mem. leaks.

flippy
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 May 2006

Postby flippy » May 26 2006, 2:45

GA8Knxp-sli
amd64x2 4200, nv7800gt, 2gb high-end ram.
1200x1024, best graphics

game runs smooth, but large battles get progressivly worse and laggy as they go. This might have something to do with the combat log..
Also, having alot of savegames seems to slow down the save menu.

User avatar
HodgePodge
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight
Posts: 3530
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby HodgePodge » May 26 2006, 21:56

Voted: Great (I have a nVidia card).

My specs are:

Pentium 4 - 3.0 MHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GT 256 MB
1.5 GB of RAM
Walk Softly & Respect All Life!

Click Here: Lords of War and Money … A Free & Fun Browser Game.


Return to “Heroes V-VI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests