Might and Magic VI - No music plays

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).
fluent2332
Leprechaun
Leprechaun

Might and Magic VI - No music plays

Unread postby fluent2332 » 28 Jan 2013, 16:19

Hello! I recently started playing Might and Magic VI, and I have a few questions about it.

For one, I can't seem to get the music to work. I am running Windows Vista 32-bit, I have the audio .mp3s (which are 224 bitrate), renamed them 2.mp3-16.mp3, placed them in a folder called "music" in the main game directory, opened the mm6.ini and changed the PlayMP3= setting to 1, and I still get no music. Not sure what could be the problem here. I tried loading a game and got no music, and also starting a new game produced no music. I get sounds of walking and nature, but no music. Any ideas?

Second, is there an FAQ somewhere for someone who has never played the game or games like this in the past? The FAQs I've read are okay and informative, but they don't tell you basic things.

Example, I'm not sure how to properly utilize my sorcerer. Do I mash the "S" key in combat to get him to shoot off his spells? What will happen when I press S but it was the paladin's turn? Will he still attack or pass his turn if the enemy is out of range?

Next, what's the best way to take out large groups of enemies? Should I switch to turn-based mode and micro-manage? I'm in Goblinwatch and just solved the puzzle, which leads me to a room full of brain suckers and rats that continue to kill my entire party quite easily. Only my ranger has a bow, and I haven't been able to utilize the sorcerer's spells yet. So any tips on how to handle a room full of these enemies would be useful.