I can't get a message to display

Maps and the art of mapmaking.
John.Galt
Pixie
Pixie

I can't get a message to display

Unread postby John.Galt » 07 Aug 2008, 15:11

Like I said in the other thread, I'm a noob map maker, and am trying to script a message. I created the text box and everything, but it didn't actually make a text file of that message on my hard drive; should it have? I'm pretty sure I have the coding right, I'll copy it here. Sorry I'm such a noob, I'll probably have a lot of questions ;-)

function Prologue()
if GetDate(DAY)== 1 then
MessageBox("Maps/SingleMissions/asdf/Prologue.txt")
end;
end;
Trigger(NEW_DAY_TRIGGER, "Prologue");

EDIT: I found the file on the hard drive actually, I was looking under the wrong Maps folder.

Grumpy Old Wizard
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight

Re: I can't get a message to display

Unread postby Grumpy Old Wizard » 07 Aug 2008, 15:20

John.Galt wrote:Like I said in the other thread, I'm a noob map maker, and am trying to script a message. I created the text box and everything, but it didn't actually make a text file of that message on my hard drive; should it have? I'm pretty sure I have the coding right, I'll copy it here. Sorry I'm such a noob, I'll probably have a lot of questions ;-)

function Prologue()
if GetDate(DAY)== 1 then
MessageBox("Maps/SingleMissions/asdf/Prologue.txt")
end;
end;
Trigger(NEW_DAY_TRIGGER, "Prologue");
Don't put any script that you want executed on the first day inside the New Day trigger function. It must come before the function.

Edit 1: Oh, I didn't read carefully enough for the first part of your question. You have to create the text file under map properties tree.

Look on the bar at the top of the editor for "view." Click it then click "Map Properties Tree." Click on the "+" sign in front of "Resources" then click on "Save Filenames" in order to highlight it. Right click on Save Filenames and chose "Add"