A few questions about the Heroes V map editor...

Maps and the art of mapmaking.
Mace the Councillor
Peasant
Peasant

A few questions about the Heroes V map editor...

Unread postby Mace the Councillor » 20 Nov 2006, 13:57

I have checked this out a bit, and most of it seems fairly straightforward. However, there are a few aspects I am a bit unsure about.

1. Is there a quick way to learn the scripting language syntax? This would be of great help. I am no newbie to programming (in fact, I study computer science at university, and I have made a heavily scripted map for Heroes IV), but this language hardly seems well-documented. While there is an Acrobat file documenting various functions, it seems unclear how to place them in a syntax. It also seems unclear how to arrange a script in such a way that a triggering event on the map (town changing owner, hero entering region, hero/monster defeated etc.) causes other things to happen.

2. Are object scripts handled on the objects themselves or in the map script.

3. How are victory and defeat conditions (such as whether a player who has no town for a consecutive 7 days will automatically lose) managed? Is there a way to deactivate the standard victory conditions? I suspect this may somehow be done via scripting, but how.

4. Can campaigns with carryover hero(es) be made in this game? If so, how?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero

Unread postby Pitsu » 20 Nov 2006, 14:21

Mace the Councillor wrote: 1. Is there a quick way to learn the scripting language syntax?
As far as I know there is no manual for that.
2. Are object scripts handled on the objects themselves or in the map script.
Which "object scripts" you mean? Most of them can be defined in main map script. But combat, for example, goes into a separate file.