My kingdom for a larger message box!!

Maps and the art of mapmaking.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Marzhin
Pit Lord
Pit Lord
Posts: 1204
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Montreuil, France
Contact:

Postby Marzhin » Nov 13 2006, 17:19

Pitsu, I love you. :hoo:

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1824
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 13 2006, 19:38

OK, a sample of the new version:

http://www.celestialheavens.com/admin/pitsu/Large_message.JPG

And the file (this time zipped with a readme and the sample image)

http://www.celestialheavens.com/homm5/mods/largemess11.zip

Let me know if there are some problems with it
Last edited by Pitsu on Nov 14 2006, 19:03, edited 1 time in total.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Vitirr
Scout
Scout
Posts: 154
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Contact:

Postby Vitirr » Nov 13 2006, 19:51

The image in the file is actually a link.

And it doesn't work for me. This is what I see: image

It worked with the previous version.

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1824
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 13 2006, 20:03

The background image seems to have reduced size on some reason.

going to investigate...

EDIT1. Someone else having the same problem? Have tried different resolutions and not installing the older mod and verifying that no third mod files are present, but cannot reproduce Vitirrs image.

Edit 2 it may be dds compression probelm...
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1824
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 13 2006, 21:55

OK the last file was updated now. As the problem was in backgound image sice, and the image was edited and re-converted into a dds I may have used a conversion mode that displays differently on different graphics cards. Do not know if that reasoning makes any sense to those who know anything about dds formats and graphic cards, but the best I could come up with. If it does not function still, I probably need to fix only the text overflow and not replace the huge box with a (IMO nicer) mid-sized image.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Vitirr
Scout
Scout
Posts: 154
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Contact:

Postby Vitirr » Nov 13 2006, 23:04

This version works for me Pitsu. I will be using it in my maps for sure.

User avatar
Shad0WeN
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 119
Joined: 10 Jun 2006

Postby Shad0WeN » Nov 15 2006, 21:42

sweet!

this is sort of one of the things I miss from previous Heroes games, the storytelling aspect.... as it made maps fun and interesting in my opinion. With the acting and dialogue in Heroes 5 being fair at best, perhaps they might have been better served by sticking with the tried and true formula of written storytelling. That's one of the things that New World Computing seemed to do reasonably well.

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1824
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 17 2006, 16:53

http://www.celestialheavens.com/viewpage.php?id=527

Version 1.11 should fix the bug when having exactly 15 lines of text. The last line was partly hidden, but scrollbar did not appear yet. Should be fine now.

Anybody can comment the need of this mod and it functionality with HoF? Not going to have the expansion myself for at least one more month.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Sixy
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 37
Joined: 26 May 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Postby Sixy » Dec 9 2006, 8:47

There's a small bug with my version of the mod. When a QuestionBox appears (in the original size), the text of the box is written in one long line, so it goes out the box.

Here's a screenshot of the bug:

Image

Could this problem be fixed?

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1824
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Dec 9 2006, 12:39

Sixy, this bug was in the first version. Did you download the mod from http://www.celestialheavens.com/viewpage.php?id=527?

Sorry, the image opens very slowly for me, so I can see only like some upper lines of it. Can you tell me in which situation it happens? Is it with every question box that has long text or only under some specific conditions?

Edit: Ok, could open the image. But since my Hungarian is non-existant, i cannot read out the situation. Looks most like a "QuestionBox" script command, which should work fine with the latest mod version.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois


Return to “Mapmaking Guild”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests