My kingdom for a larger message box!!

Maps and the art of mapmaking.

Moderator: Moderators

myythryyn
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 293
Joined: 05 Sep 2006

Postby myythryyn » Nov 12 2006, 20:16

hmm, sorry vitirr for asking again, but you see, there is no .PAK file to place anywhere.

there is a zip file which i downloaded, and within that zip file there is two root folders, called "textures", and "UI".
then within those folders there are subfolders with multiple files, .DDS files, like backtexture.DDS, backtextureMB.DDS ect.
there are also multiple .XDB files.

are you saying that i open my map file with WINRAR and then place the two root folders, called textures and UI with all the files within them, directly in this folder - maps/singlemissions/mapname/ ?

User avatar
Vitirr
Scout
Scout
Posts: 154
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Contact:

Postby Vitirr » Nov 12 2006, 20:26

The file Pitsu posted here is a pak file. That's the one I mean. Yes it is in fact a zip, but the name is .pak.

are you saying that i open my map file with WINRAR and then place the two root folders, called textures and UI with all the files within them, directly in this folder - maps/singlemissions/mapname/ ?

This would be for the way 2. But you don't have to add them to that folder but to the root folder of the map. The list of folders should be:

Maps
Textures
UI

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1808
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 12 2006, 21:05

myythryyn wrote:hmm, sorry vitirr for asking again, but you see, there is no .PAK file to place anywhere.

there is a zip file which i downloaded, ..


Err, look at the name in the link:
http://www.celestialheavens.com/admin/pitsu/largemessages.pak

Do not open this file, only save into data directory. Or follow the instructions Vitirr gave.

do i just place the two root folders in the data directory?


That is of course also one way to do...

oh, and i guess i owe you my kingdom now....ill have my scribes right up the documents today transferring ownership to you. I suppose i should tell you there are some abandoned mines youll have to clear out, there is some pesky dragons up on a mountain eating the peasants, monsters have overun the other mines and resouces, oh, and there is a horde of undead moving down from the north and a legion of infernal demons from the south....but im sure you can take care of all that smile


Happens that little lovely place be called Harmondale? :-D
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

myythryyn
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 293
Joined: 05 Sep 2006

Postby myythryyn » Nov 12 2006, 21:55

Pitsu wrote:Happens that little lovely place be called Harmondale? :-D


You may call the kingdom whatever you wish :)
ill have my scribes also draft up a change of name form, which will need to be signed in triplicate, then given to the board of name change for approval, then it will have to be announced by the town crier, if anyone objects to the new name, youll have to deal with the unhappy peasant yourself...
and a fee of 20 000 gold, 10 crystal, 15 gems, and 5 sulphur will also be required. But after that, Harmondale shall be the name of your new kingdom:)

ok i got it to work....doh...yes, that file is a .PAK file...i was just so exicited to have a bigger message box, i didnt even think about that.

so i placed the two folders "textures" and "UI" in the root of my map file folder, and it works great.

thxs so much, and btw, im going to put your mod in the sticky file for map hints :)

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1808
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 13 2006, 16:01

OK, looks like the mod still messes some things up. Like the message for joining creatures has weird text placement. The same for gold vs exp question in chests.

Will investigate...

EDIT. Looks like that will be easily fixed in next version

Any more problems encountered by someone?
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Marzhin
Pit Lord
Pit Lord
Posts: 1201
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Montreuil, France
Contact:

Postby Marzhin » Nov 13 2006, 17:19

Pitsu, I love you. :hoo:

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1808
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 13 2006, 19:38

OK, a sample of the new version:

http://www.celestialheavens.com/admin/pitsu/Large_message.JPG

And the file (this time zipped with a readme and the sample image)

http://www.celestialheavens.com/homm5/mods/largemess11.zip

Let me know if there are some problems with it
Last edited by Pitsu on Nov 14 2006, 19:03, edited 1 time in total.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Vitirr
Scout
Scout
Posts: 154
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Contact:

Postby Vitirr » Nov 13 2006, 19:51

The image in the file is actually a link.

And it doesn't work for me. This is what I see: image

It worked with the previous version.

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1808
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 13 2006, 20:03

The background image seems to have reduced size on some reason.

going to investigate...

EDIT1. Someone else having the same problem? Have tried different resolutions and not installing the older mod and verifying that no third mod files are present, but cannot reproduce Vitirrs image.

Edit 2 it may be dds compression probelm...
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1808
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 13 2006, 21:55

OK the last file was updated now. As the problem was in backgound image sice, and the image was edited and re-converted into a dds I may have used a conversion mode that displays differently on different graphics cards. Do not know if that reasoning makes any sense to those who know anything about dds formats and graphic cards, but the best I could come up with. If it does not function still, I probably need to fix only the text overflow and not replace the huge box with a (IMO nicer) mid-sized image.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Vitirr
Scout
Scout
Posts: 154
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Contact:

Postby Vitirr » Nov 13 2006, 23:04

This version works for me Pitsu. I will be using it in my maps for sure.

User avatar
Shad0WeN
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 119
Joined: 10 Jun 2006

Postby Shad0WeN » Nov 15 2006, 21:42

sweet!

this is sort of one of the things I miss from previous Heroes games, the storytelling aspect.... as it made maps fun and interesting in my opinion. With the acting and dialogue in Heroes 5 being fair at best, perhaps they might have been better served by sticking with the tried and true formula of written storytelling. That's one of the things that New World Computing seemed to do reasonably well.

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1808
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Nov 17 2006, 16:53

http://www.celestialheavens.com/viewpage.php?id=527

Version 1.11 should fix the bug when having exactly 15 lines of text. The last line was partly hidden, but scrollbar did not appear yet. Should be fine now.

Anybody can comment the need of this mod and it functionality with HoF? Not going to have the expansion myself for at least one more month.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois

User avatar
Sixy
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 37
Joined: 26 May 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Postby Sixy » Dec 9 2006, 8:47

There's a small bug with my version of the mod. When a QuestionBox appears (in the original size), the text of the box is written in one long line, so it goes out the box.

Here's a screenshot of the bug:

Image

Could this problem be fixed?

User avatar
Pitsu
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1808
Joined: 22 Nov 2005

Postby Pitsu » Dec 9 2006, 12:39

Sixy, this bug was in the first version. Did you download the mod from http://www.celestialheavens.com/viewpage.php?id=527?

Sorry, the image opens very slowly for me, so I can see only like some upper lines of it. Can you tell me in which situation it happens? Is it with every question box that has long text or only under some specific conditions?

Edit: Ok, could open the image. But since my Hungarian is non-existant, i cannot read out the situation. Looks most like a "QuestionBox" script command, which should work fine with the latest mod version.
Avatar image credit: N Lüdimois


Return to “Mapmaking Guild”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests