My basic Homm3 strategies. Please give me your opinions.

The old Heroes games developed by New World Computing. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.
Darkzephyr
Leprechaun
Leprechaun

My basic Homm3 strategies. Please give me your opinions.

Unread postby Darkzephyr » 29 Nov 2007, 23:52

Since I'm still pretty new to Homm3 (i just reinstalled, after not playing since 2001), I thought I would reveal my overall strategies and see how noobish I really was. If anyone has an alternative strategies that will help me improve in the long run, please don't hesitate to tell me!

Before I start, I'll tell you some basic things about what race/map I typically play. I usually play Normal difficutly with Fortress or Dungeon (my 2 favorite castles) against any opponent I can find who is willing to play me.

1st Week, Day 1.
Obviously, I have a main hero. Typically I will build Town Hall or a creature dwelling. Normally I would start exploring with my main and kill whatever I thought I could take. Now I have a new strategy for Day 1.

1. Build a dwelling that has a fast creature (such as Serpentfly hive for Fortress).
2. Hire a second hero, give him at least 1 serpentfly and have him start exploring.
3. Use this intial scout expedetion to determine where to go with my Main, then hire the remaining serpentflies and any other units and head out to the nearest stack of monsters I want to take.

Day 2
Build Town Hall, continue exploring and gathering resources. I usually take Gold from the Chests to boost my income so I can get most of my creature production buildings.

Day 3-6
(Building Creature buildings)
1.Usually throughout the week, I'll hire additional heroes to bring reinforcement to my main. Otherwise, I keep scouting and killing stacks. At this point my Main is usually headed as far as he can in a certain direction.
If I can get all my 2-6 creature building and still have 1 day left, I may go for my Mage Guild or MarketPlace.

Day 7 (or sooner)