Losing heroes of Might and magic savegames

The old Heroes games developed by New World Computing. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.

Moderator: Moderators

Losing your Heroes of Might and Magic savegames is...

Crap, but good for replaying it all...
7
70%
Cool, i hated it anyway (??? i dunno why)!
1
10%
Sh*t, no reason to play it ever again, WoW here i come!!!
2
20%
Good, i could not get rid of them myself, thanks mister virus!!
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 10

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4009
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Losing heroes of Might and magic savegames

Postby darknessfood » Oct 23 2007, 16:41

Due to a stupid virus a had to completely re-install my computer and therefor losing all of my "hard worked for" savegames from Heroes of Might and Magic 1, 2 (and POL) , 3 (AB and SOD) and 4 (complete)

The polls question is how bad it sucks.

And to talk about this bad experience ofcourse...

User avatar
ThunderTitan
Perpetual Poster
Perpetual Poster
Posts: 23266
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Now/here
Contact:

Postby ThunderTitan » Oct 23 2007, 18:28

Where's the Stupid (i don't have a backup drive/disk etc.) option? :devil:
Disclaimer: May contain sarcasm!
I have never faked a sarcasm in my entire life. - ???
"With ABC deleting dynamite gags from cartoons, do you find that your children are using explosives less frequently?" — Mark LoPresti

Alt-0128: €

Image

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9266
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Oct 23 2007, 19:30

Bad, but impossible for me. As long as I have backup cd. Unfortunatelly I haven't everything important backuped.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4009
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Oct 24 2007, 0:37

ThunderTitan wrote:Where's the Stupid (i don't have a backup drive/disk etc.) option? :devil:


Yeah, didn't thought of that one :(.
Now i made my hd into 2 partitions, important games are kept on the other one :P

User avatar
pepak
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight
Posts: 195
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby pepak » Oct 24 2007, 9:50

That won't help you when (notice: "when", not "if") your harddisk dies.

Let's say I don't feel all that comfortable even with RAID5 and two backups (external harddisk and a DVD). I aim for three external harddisks (one at home, one in a bank's security box, one in a different town).

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4009
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Oct 24 2007, 12:04

pepak wrote:That won't help you when (notice: "when", not "if") your harddisk dies.

Let's say I don't feel all that comfortable even with RAID5 and two backups (external harddisk and a DVD). I aim for three external harddisks (one at home, one in a bank's security box, one in a different town).


Dude, that's sick :S

User avatar
ThunderTitan
Perpetual Poster
Perpetual Poster
Posts: 23266
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Now/here
Contact:

Postby ThunderTitan » Oct 24 2007, 12:15

pepak wrote:That won't help you when (notice: "when", not "if") your harddisk dies.



If your HDD dies before you change your PC you must have bought a crappy HDD... and disk covers floppy, compact, digital versatile... (interesting, wiki says that they use "disc" for CD's and DVD's, how silly)
Disclaimer: May contain sarcasm!

I have never faked a sarcasm in my entire life. - ???
"With ABC deleting dynamite gags from cartoons, do you find that your children are using explosives less frequently?" — Mark LoPresti

Alt-0128: €


Image

ByteBandit
Archangel
Archangel
Posts: 1432
Joined: 27 Nov 2005

Postby ByteBandit » Oct 25 2007, 0:02

Yeah, I backup anything real important for any Heroes game on CD's or DVD's. I never distribute them, they are for my own personal use only.

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4009
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Oct 25 2007, 12:33

ByteBandit wrote:Yeah, I backup anything real important for any Heroes game on CD's or DVD's. I never distribute them, they are for my own personal use only.


Well, i started a map years ago for savegames. Too bad i never updated that one, so now i miss olmost everything important :(, it sucks!

User avatar
ThunderTitan
Perpetual Poster
Perpetual Poster
Posts: 23266
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Now/here
Contact:

Postby ThunderTitan » Oct 25 2007, 15:59

Of course next time someone's one drive PC gets infected they might want to invest in a bootable-from-CD OS... that way even if you can't access your primary OS you can still copy the files you want on floppy or whatever.
Disclaimer: May contain sarcasm!

I have never faked a sarcasm in my entire life. - ???
"With ABC deleting dynamite gags from cartoons, do you find that your children are using explosives less frequently?" — Mark LoPresti

Alt-0128: €


Image

Kildars
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 94
Joined: 01 Jul 2007

Postby Kildars » Oct 27 2007, 14:43

It really sucks to lose any Heroes saves because even 1 map takes normally 2 to 3 hours, not to mention those extra big maps......

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4009
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Oct 27 2007, 19:28

Kildars wrote:It really sucks to lose any Heroes saves because even 1 map takes normally 2 to 3 hours, not to mention those extra big maps......


Indeed, really crap :(

User avatar
MistWeaver
Wraith
Wraith
Posts: 1277
Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Location: Citadel of Frosts

Postby MistWeaver » Oct 27 2007, 23:30

Im sorry, but why didnt you copy your savegames somewhere before "re-installing" your my computer ?

Kildars
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 94
Joined: 01 Jul 2007

Postby Kildars » Oct 28 2007, 0:10

I suppose he got some really serious virus infection that makes you even unable to login to the windows.
I myself had a similar experience while playing H5...if it weren't that serious I believe no one would to so stupid as to forget that he could backup the save data before formatting...no?

User avatar
MistWeaver
Wraith
Wraith
Posts: 1277
Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Location: Citadel of Frosts

Postby MistWeaver » Oct 28 2007, 1:07

Kildars wrote:I suppose he got some really serious virus infection that makes you even unable to login to the windows.
I myself had a similar experience while playing H5...if it weren't that serious I believe no one would to so stupid as to forget that he could backup the save data before formatting...no?


He could start up with some live/boot cd in that case.

User avatar
Yurian Stonebow
Vampire
Vampire
Posts: 944
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Postby Yurian Stonebow » Oct 28 2007, 9:31

Well you know, it's a crappy thing to happen but the good side of it is that you can concentrate on replaying the mission(s) and hopefully better this time. I mean that to myself, at least, it is a major victory to beat my previous records.


Good luck with starting over again.



Maybe you can then return to WoW. ("Winds of War") :D






Yurian
Don't worry if things are going badly today. They will be much worse tomorrow.

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4009
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Oct 29 2007, 9:38

Hahaha, we all know i meant World of Warcraft :P

User avatar
CoffeeGnome
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 133
Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento

Postby CoffeeGnome » Oct 30 2007, 23:42

I admit I have not played heroes of MM since #2 but i used to suffer from a glitch in which I lost saved games from HoMM2 all of the time. After a while I got frustrated and started playing starcraft. Have there been many reoccourances of these problems with any of the HoMM3, HoMM4, or HoMM5, so I know what ones to avoid?

User avatar
darknessfood
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 4009
Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Postby darknessfood » Oct 31 2007, 14:49

CoffeeGnome wrote:I admit I have not played heroes of MM since #2 but i used to suffer from a glitch in which I lost saved games from HoMM2 all of the time. After a while I got frustrated and started playing starcraft. Have there been many reoccourances of these problems with any of the HoMM3, HoMM4, or HoMM5, so I know what ones to avoid?


Well, i never had that :S. But it's really weird and anoying!


Return to “Heroes I-IV”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests