Eagle's nest (HOMM4)-Can't pass through the 10 quests

The old Heroes games developed by New World Computing. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.

Moderator: Moderators

slimoli
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 May 2006

Eagle's nest (HOMM4)-Can't pass through the 10 quests

Postby slimoli » Jan 3 2007, 5:08

I have already found the 10 required itens but the quest hut on the Quest Island still tells me that I have some work to do. Did anybody play this map and know why?

Thanks

Sergio

User avatar
pepak
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight
Posts: 195
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby pepak » Jan 3 2007, 10:39

If you could remind me which map it is, I might be able to help you.

slimoli
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 May 2006

Postby slimoli » Jan 4 2007, 6:59

Eagle's nest is a XL single map, thanks.

User avatar
pepak
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight
Posts: 195
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby pepak » Jan 4 2007, 18:53

I can't help you then, I thought it was a campaign scenario or something. I didn't play it if it isn't. Sorry.

Ed Robinson
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 98
Joined: 03 May 2007

Postby Ed Robinson » Feb 15 2015, 13:33

After a few years playing other games I came back to HOMM IV which is my favorite HOMM, can't say why, just is.

I downloaded this map and am experiencing the same problem outlined above. I have played twice to this point and can go no further. I have searched for a hint or posting without success.

If anyone, with a loooong memory can help, I'd appreciate it!

Ed RI, USA

User avatar
iLiVeInAbOx05
Equilibris Team
Equilibris Team
Posts: 579
Joined: 21 Jul 2014

Postby iLiVeInAbOx05 » Feb 16 2015, 5:29

Ed Robinson wrote:After a few years playing other games I came back to HOMM IV which is my favorite HOMM, can't say why, just is.

I downloaded this map and am experiencing the same problem outlined above. I have played twice to this point and can go no further. I have searched for a hint or posting without success.

If anyone, with a loooong memory can help, I'd appreciate it!

Ed RI, USA


I would open the map in the editor and look at the scripting in the quest hut. I haven't played this, so unfortunately I can't contribute more than that.

Ed Robinson
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 98
Joined: 03 May 2007

Postby Ed Robinson » Feb 16 2015, 14:46

I have never used the editor but spent some time looking around in it as this map is really worth the effort. I found in the object properties that 3 of the 10 items needed were misspelled or spelled differently than the artifacts list.
I then edited them and saved the file. I am still getting the same message at the quest hut.

I did note that I was unable to delete the misspelled item from the selection list of variable items but it did include the corrected items. Also, the corrected items appear in the script window.

Hard to believe that with 14000 plus downloads and a cumulative rating on 8.1 that I am only the second player with this problem!

Am I doing something wrong here???

Thanks for your reply...

User avatar
Namerutan
Equilibris Team
Equilibris Team
Posts: 43
Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Location: Sevilla, Spain
Contact:

Postby Namerutan » Feb 17 2015, 0:04

Ed Robinson wrote:I have never used the editor but spent some time looking around in it as this map is really worth the effort. I found in the object properties that 3 of the 10 items needed were misspelled or spelled differently than the artifacts list.
I then edited them and saved the file. I am still getting the same message at the quest hut.

I did note that I was unable to delete the misspelled item from the selection list of variable items but it did include the corrected items. Also, the corrected items appear in the script window.

Hard to believe that with 14000 plus downloads and a cumulative rating on 8.1 that I am only the second player with this problem!

Am I doing something wrong here???

Thanks for your reply...


What that script checks is not the artifacts names, but several variables (values stored in memory), which has been set by the quest huts and placed events when you visited matching the right requirements (be certain hero, own certain artifact, be certain level...).
So I guess even if you own all 10 artifacts surely you still have some quest to complete to "activate" the corresponding variables. Check all the 8 quests huts and 2 locations to see if you already completed all 10 in that locations:

Thunderhammer (Homelands Island 186,37,2)
Emerald Longbow (Outlands 162,67,2)
Adamantine Shield (Dead Tree Quest 154,24,1 Placed event, no quest hut)
Lion's Shield of Courage (Wet Socks Island 229,97,2)
Soulstealer (Island of the Dead 70,217,2)
Bull Rune Battleaxe (Angel's Desert 281,150,1)
Seaman's Hat (Angel's Desert 274,144,1)
Adamantine Armor (Naxpan Island 134,133,1 Placed event, no quest hut)
Scale Mail of Strength (Naxpan Caves 126,126,2)
Horned Bow (Tuqes Island 197,67,1)

Ed Robinson
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 98
Joined: 03 May 2007

Postby Ed Robinson » Feb 18 2015, 12:53

I hate reading unresolved messages and so I just wanted to say that I rechecked both saved games that wouldn't progress past the Quest Island Hut. All of the locations stated that the quest was completed. I even reloaded the two saves and revisited the locations and got a completed message.

Because the map had been so enjoyable to that point, I restarted for a third time and this time the quest completed. I have no idea why, but am happy that I didn't give up on the map.

Thanks to those who answered my posting!


Return to “Heroes I-IV”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests