H4ResourceEditor

The old Heroes games developed by New World Computing. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
iLiVeInAbOx05
Equilibris Team
Equilibris Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 21 Jul 2014

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby iLiVeInAbOx05 » Sep 7 2018, 3:26

So it seems simply unsetting the info at the end of the file will cause the object to always appear behind others, so that info at the end of the file has something to do with how to display the object's image partially above / below another object, in addition to somewhere including the canvas size. Still more research to do here.

Another quick update. I have been able to create a .ora file and open it with gimp, but I believe I need to "crop" each of the layers so that the .png file for each layer is the size of the layer, and not the size of the canvas with the layer in its proper place.

After that, I need to figure out the issue I've been having with parsing the alpha data because this will affect what is exported.

Importing should work fine, since I can correctly use the alpha data there when packing it into H4 format.

After more work I got it working when using the layer size for the png file of each layer, so next is either working on importing a .ora file or finally figuring out what is going wrong with parsing the alpha data!

User avatar
Karmakeld
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 1087
Joined: 12 Nov 2011

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby Karmakeld » Sep 9 2018, 20:48

I will try to help look into the end file info's soon...
looking so much forward to being able to import ora and make animated objects :D
I'm silent in seven languages - and I got all my familys fear.
Everytime you throw dirt, you loose a little ground

User avatar
iLiVeInAbOx05
Equilibris Team
Equilibris Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 21 Jul 2014

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby iLiVeInAbOx05 » Oct 30 2018, 18:46

Support for importing .ora files was the next task selected for implementation.

Currently I have imported a .ora file that Namerutan's program exported, to an object and it was (mostly) successful at least as far as my program is concerned. I haven't yet tested dropping the object on a map for use because right now the shadows didn't seem to make it in, so I'll have to take a look at that but it should be a simple bug to find / fix.

User avatar
iLiVeInAbOx05
Equilibris Team
Equilibris Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 21 Jul 2014

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby iLiVeInAbOx05 » Feb 18 2019, 16:28

Original post updated to include a download link for the H4 Resource Editor.

User avatar
Karmakeld
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 1087
Joined: 12 Nov 2011

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby Karmakeld » Feb 18 2019, 20:01

Great to see it released for the public. That took about a year, still :applause: :tsup: hoping others will find it useful.
Also I'll post a news article about it's release.. fyi..
Last edited by Karmakeld on Feb 18 2019, 20:01, edited 1 time in total.
I'm silent in seven languages - and I got all my familys fear.

Everytime you throw dirt, you loose a little ground

User avatar
iLiVeInAbOx05
Equilibris Team
Equilibris Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 21 Jul 2014

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby iLiVeInAbOx05 » May 8 2019, 15:42

OP updated with link to the latest H4 Resource Editor.

- Added major and minor type mappings so that the correct minor types are loaded when selecting a specific major type (Fields changed from text to combo boxes)
- Fixed a bug which broke the "update" button
- Added the ability to open adventure objects when the selected file filter is "obj" or "all files".

User avatar
Karmakeld
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 1087
Joined: 12 Nov 2011

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby Karmakeld » May 12 2019, 18:57

Great. We'll have a news update about this I guess.
I'm silent in seven languages - and I got all my familys fear.

Everytime you throw dirt, you loose a little ground

User avatar
iLiVeInAbOx05
Equilibris Team
Equilibris Team
Posts: 556
Joined: 21 Jul 2014

Re: H4ResourceEditor

Postby iLiVeInAbOx05 » May 13 2019, 4:53

OP updated with the link to the latest H4 Resource Editor.

- Fixed a memory issue when opening large files, such as heroes4.h4r

Not everyone had this issue when trying to open heroes4.h4r. It seemed to be an issue on machines with a smaller amount of memory available, and I was using a method that I later found out was not intended for large files.


Return to “Heroes I-IV”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests