Help with H4 Dragon Golems

The old Heroes games developed by New World Computing. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.

Dragon Golems' utility as a level 4

Totally Suck. I never use them if possible. prefer cyclopses (OP's vote)
25%
Limited utility. But at least better than those useless Hydras
25%
Average ability like devils and champions. I'm ok with them
50%
Great! Must have for Order faction. I prefer them over Titans!
No votes

Total votes: 4

cjlee
Spectre
Spectre

Help with H4 Dragon Golems

Unread postby cjlee » 24 Nov 2014, 16:26

I have been playing H4 for many years by now and for all its flaws it is my favorite version of Heroes. It is really all about Heroes in my mind, and the closest by far to an RPG version of HOMM.

Now there are many units in H4 that I am not good at using, for the simple fact that they never play much of a role in my playing style or my strategies.

One of these is the Orc. The orc does hardly any damage, even when in the hundreds. When playing Chaos I go for bandits for the mobility and the offensive skills, I get Medusas for their death stare, and I try to save all my money for Efreets and Dragons. Hiring Orcs is usually only when I have money. And that doesn’t happen much with Chaos, since thieves can usually not steal as much as Order’s Lords can produce. But orcs usually don’t make or break a game.

There is another unit that I am terrible at using. It is the Dragon Golem. And playing them well is much more important. There are many situations where you simply don’t have enough resources for Titans. Or else enough resources for both titans and genies. (And for the sake of mobility and leveling up quickly usually I go for as many genies as possible.)

I am posting here to see what you guys have to say about Dragon Golems. I am just tired of not playing them well.