I am an idiot...

Light-hearted discussions, forum games and anything that doesn't fit into the other forums.

Moderators: Moderators, Celestial Heavens Staff

User avatar
Xenofex.XVII
Scout
Scout
Posts: 196
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: 54°51'30.95"N , 23°54'23.05"E
Contact:

Postby Xenofex.XVII » Aug 6 2006, 13:28

I once left "Worms wold party" running on my old comp,
and when i was back the screen was black. It turned out that the comp overheated. :(

One of my newest idiotic questions was:

Recently installed K(de)ubuntu.

I have a similar problem.
After playing with settings I managed to connect to my LAN, No internet.
Now after more playing with settings the eth0 interface got disabled. I try to Enable it but,
it remains disabled.

My settings that worked on WinXP:

Code: Select all

Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : monster
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-A2-0F-58
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.254
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.59.0.1
                                            212.59.0.2

Does anyone know how can I enable the network, and internet?
The problem might be becouse of installing packages via ADEPT, and becouse of editing files
  • /etc/hosts
  • /etc/network/interfaces
  • /etc/resolv.conf


Tried command

Code: Select all

#ifconfig
in terminal cosole, but it did nothing. No error, no info. :(

:devious:
It is time to stop believing and start understanding. - Rael

User avatar
Lady Farquad
Scout
Scout
Posts: 179
Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Location: Hispanic heaven

Postby Lady Farquad » Aug 10 2006, 20:44

Centuries ago, on a 80286, spent 1/2 an hour checking connections and wires 'cause the pc wouldn't start.
(The monitor was off) :D
Morior, ergo sum

User avatar
Kalah
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 20021
Joined: 24 Nov 2005

Postby Kalah » Aug 10 2006, 21:01

It took you half an hour to check connections and cables? :tongue:
In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Goodwill.

User avatar
Lady Farquad
Scout
Scout
Posts: 179
Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Location: Hispanic heaven

Postby Lady Farquad » Aug 10 2006, 21:27

:D
You dont have the slightest idea on how obssesive I can be (and how many times I re re checked them)
Morior, ergo sum

User avatar
Kalah
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 20021
Joined: 24 Nov 2005

Postby Kalah » Aug 11 2006, 2:36

I'll bet you even wondered if the cables were intact... :D
In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Goodwill.

User avatar
DaemianLucifer
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 11282
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: City 17

Postby DaemianLucifer » Aug 11 2006, 5:59

Xenofex.XVII wrote:I once left "Worms wold party" running on my old comp,
and when i was back the screen was black. It turned out that the comp overheated. :(


Really?Your cooler must have burned out.I think I have 7 or 8 coolers in my comp.And its been on for some 3 to 4 months now,with longest break being half a day.Still works perfectly(though I do have to clean the coolers regulary).

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9303
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Aug 11 2006, 6:00

Xenofex.XVII wrote:
Tried command

Code: Select all

#ifconfig
in terminal cosole, but it did nothing. No error, no info. :(
:devious:


/sbin/ip
and for help /sbin/ip --help

or by using this obsolete command

/sbin/ifconfig

the way to get the help is generally same in whole linuxes, another way is "info ip" or "man ip", where, in trouble where the command is located, you may try "locate ifconfig" ;)

related commandes> ifup ifdown nslookup ...
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
Panda Tar
Forum Mascot
Forum Mascot
Posts: 6655
Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Location: Florianópolis - Brasil

Re: I am an idiot...

Postby Panda Tar » Aug 29 2006, 1:16

ThunderTitan wrote:
Feel free to share any similar experiences.


I was using my connection happily, then it stop working. Internet Destroyer stopped working, closed all my windows and restarted my computer. After restarting it, I couldn't edit any field on the web, even to access my webmail or things like writing an URL on the navigation bar.

Well, I couldn't find out why until this very day :devious: , so I'm using Firefox! :-D ..................... :) .......................... :(

That wasn't my fault. :disagree:
"There’s nothing to fear but fear itself and maybe some mild to moderate jellification of bones." Cave Johnson, Portal 2. :panda:

User avatar
asandir
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 15481
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: The campfire .... mostly

Postby asandir » Aug 29 2006, 1:34

nothing can destroy like a microsoft product can destroy!!!
Human madness is the howl of a child with a shattered heart.

User avatar
Mithras
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 82
Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Location: Germany, deep down Ruhrpott

Postby Mithras » Aug 29 2006, 4:06

stefan.urlus wrote:nothing can destroy like a microsoft product can destroy!!!


Yes but sometimes the "source of error" sits in front of the keyboard :D

@Panda Tar : That was not aimed at you ! Regarding Microsoft products we are all just victims !
It's only Rock 'n Roll (but I like it)
Proud bearer of the caladont-nerd plaque

User avatar
asandir
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 15481
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: The campfire .... mostly

Postby asandir » Aug 29 2006, 4:13

indeed that is true, many times it is the (l)user who causes the problems
Human madness is the howl of a child with a shattered heart.

User avatar
Caradoc
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight
Posts: 1780
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Marble Falls Texas

Postby Caradoc » Aug 29 2006, 4:59

"The two most common elements in the universe are Hydrogen and stupidity." --Harlan Ellison
Before you criticize someone, first walk a mile in their shoes. If they get mad, you'll be a mile away. And you'll have their shoes.

User avatar
asandir
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 15481
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: The campfire .... mostly

Postby asandir » Aug 29 2006, 5:58

and stupidity probably sits above hydrogen ....
Human madness is the howl of a child with a shattered heart.

User avatar
ThunderTitan
Perpetual Poster
Perpetual Poster
Posts: 23266
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Now/here
Contact:

Postby ThunderTitan » Aug 29 2006, 7:20

stefan.urlus wrote:and stupidity probably sits above hydrogen ....


The way i heard it was "but i'm not sure about the Hydrogen." :D
Disclaimer: May contain sarcasm!
I have never faked a sarcasm in my entire life. - ???
"With ABC deleting dynamite gags from cartoons, do you find that your children are using explosives less frequently?" — Mark LoPresti

Alt-0128: €

Image

User avatar
asandir
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 15481
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: The campfire .... mostly

Postby asandir » Aug 29 2006, 7:22

:lol:

that's the one
Human madness is the howl of a child with a shattered heart.

User avatar
Gaidal Cain
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 6972
Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Location: Solna

Postby Gaidal Cain » Aug 29 2006, 15:17

Quote properly:
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.
Albert Einstein
You don't want to make enemies in Nuclear Engineering. -- T. Pratchett

User avatar
DaemianLucifer
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 11282
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: City 17

Postby DaemianLucifer » Aug 29 2006, 22:00

And there is increasing number of theories that the universe has borders,so...Oh,and a nice version of this could be "All things die.Only stupidity is eternal" :devil:

User avatar
Panda Tar
Forum Mascot
Forum Mascot
Posts: 6655
Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Location: Florianópolis - Brasil

Postby Panda Tar » Aug 30 2006, 0:18

We are mostly the ones who cause the problem. In fact, if we didn't use those products, we wouldn't find out bugs and problems. :-D

The right thing to do is to left those things to rot in a trash can nearby.
"There’s nothing to fear but fear itself and maybe some mild to moderate jellification of bones." Cave Johnson, Portal 2. :panda:

User avatar
asandir
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 15481
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: The campfire .... mostly

Postby asandir » Aug 30 2006, 3:06

ummm, what?? :|
Human madness is the howl of a child with a shattered heart.

User avatar
Lady Farquad
Scout
Scout
Posts: 179
Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Location: Hispanic heaven

Postby Lady Farquad » Aug 30 2006, 15:34

"Products cause stupidity? :|

Note: Following Einstein's own theories, is not hard for mathmaticians to conclude that the universe is "curved", ergo has borders (of some kind).
Morior, ergo sum


Return to “Campfire”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests