Tech Corner

Light-hearted discussions, forum games and anything that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Tech Corner - Firewalls, AV etc. - Report Bugs - Board Rules
User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 08 Apr 2023, 08:08

Do you have water cooling in?
Odd behaviour may be anything, they will let you know if component will be buggy or not. Regarding the result, you will need to be watchful during first few months.

There's no need to be. Doing bios update should be mandatory. All this platform is new and they are fixing plethora of bugs with each new bios version. The good news is that bios update can be done often from windows, by simply clicking on "Bios update" or by downloading it to USB stick and launching the update from the bios screen.

So, it's easy. And it's likely that you will be doing it yourself too.

https://pg.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B650E%20PG ... x.asp#BIOS

As you can check latest bios is from 3rd March and for your CPU was obligatory. (ver 1.18)

The same may happen overtime with your GPU. Life is not only about drivers :D

Unstable memory would be worse, you will see if there will be random crashes...

That fee is high, when I was building PCs, which is now about ten years ago, the fee which I charged was around $25.

As a last thing, lots of errors comes in later due to microsoft "fixes". Just recently I was watching saving one my file on SSD, which took whooping 2 minutes. But it's known error, hopefully they will fix it soon - if that would be too booring, I can remove their fix. Yep, Windows 11 here, says hello.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 08 Apr 2023, 19:56

According to the notes, the pc did not boot consistently and there were issues with USB ports in the system. After bios update, it resolved the issue.

Armory Crate can change the rgb lighting of the RAM and Liquid Cooler screen, but I don't know how to change the rgb lighting of the GPU and anything else. EDIT: I downloaded Polychrome Synch app which has option to change color of GPU, but it doesn't change anything after selecting different color. :|

Main problem I'm having is the internet is weak signal and download speed much slower than before even after I installed the driver for my wireless adapter. :|

It's hard to take pictures with all the glare from the glass case, but here are a couple.

https://i.postimg.cc/ydkFJNS2/20230408-135019.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/k40tBvCt/20230408-124418.jpg

I had to buy an HDMI cable because there is no DPI cable slot for the cable my monitor came with.

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 09 Apr 2023, 11:17

Which ones, there are two versions of Polychrome, as well as two versions of MB drivers. You are better to try Beta, where can be a new features.

It can be caused by antennas. Do you still have your USB adapter? Use it, there's easier to position antennas and you will see. That will be good for a comparison, sadly it can be also drivers.

According to the notes, the pc did not boot consistently and there were issues with USB ports in the system. After bios update, it resolved the issue.
Because they should update bios prior to seating in the CPU and then start testing. As I said for your CPU the bios update was mandatory. It might not run at all without that. No surprise. The USB not working are one of known symptoms.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 09 Apr 2023, 18:53

I think part of the problem with the RGB is that there is interfering factors from the Polychrome app and Armory Crate app. I ended up deleting the Armory Crate app since it stopped recognizing the Rog Ryujin and couldn't control the GPU rgb. With the Polychrome, I can change the RGB with the RAM, MB, GPU, however it doesn't do anything to the AIO cooler and I thought the AIO cooler fans had RGB, but those have never been active with either app so I'm not sure what to make of it.

The main issue I have with the PC is a non-stop electrical noise that sounds like hum or buzz sound which I think might be from PSU or fan but I could be wrong. Maybe it is normal sound and nothing is wrong, but I notice it in a quiet room and it bothers me. On occasion, it gets even louder. I don't know if I should be concerned about it or not?

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 09 Apr 2023, 19:18

Can your control RPM on AIO cooler? The non RGB seems like complete software issue, Ryujin rely on Aura Sync, even if that's part of Armory Crate, there might be other utilities incorporating it. (Not sure but it's possible.)

Hum or buzz can be normal but it depends. First try to prevent any vibrations transfer, is your case having any rubber legs? Or do you have any rubber pad on which you can place your PC?

Case itself can also vibrate, you might try to remove one side panel and check if sound is still here or not. If not, or lesser, than bit of tape can save you.

There, RGB cable connector. Watch in video and then check, if it's connected properly. As very sure, fans can rotate even without it.


This is a good "strange sounds" check page:
https://computerinfobits.com/why-is-my- ... r-buzzing/

I will add that you may help yourself with diagnosis with improvised stethoscope, for which you will need some magazine, newspapers, just roll them, to create a pipe. :D
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 09 Apr 2023, 21:16

How would I control the RPM on AIO Cooler. I've never seen the AIO fans spinning at all (The big fans to the far right in the second picture below). Does that mean it's not working? Once I did hear like a gurgling water sound.

Case has strip of rubber on its legs.

I opened both sides of the case and took pictures. Does anything seem not right to you?

https://i.postimg.cc/0QBH1MDQ/20230409-165111.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/V6r26WYM/20230409-165659.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/pL3fvf13/20230409-165712.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/PJ6DRYw3/20230409-165722.jpg


EDIT: I remember that when I installed the motherboard Polychrome, it updated something on the motherboard and I think that is when the ROG Ryujin was no longer detected. Not sure what to do now. Is my computer going to overheat?

I've tried reinstalling Armory Crate, but it keeps stalling and if it does open there is nothing I can actually interact with in the UI anymore.

I've tried installing Ryujin firmware and it says device not found.

I got into the bios to check the temperature and it said the CPU temperature was 43 degrees C (109F) and MB temperature was 31 degrees C (87.8F). I've packed up the PC and am going to return it to the store for them to fix this mess. I feel my PC parts have been damage by this and will ask for an exchange. This whole experience has been heartbreaking. :(

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 10 Apr 2023, 06:30

43 degrees - That's ok. Additionally the board would switch off automatically, if there would be risk of overheating.
The coolers will spin only, if there's need too. Not sure what is the temperature threshold, perhaps try to play some game or running test to check it?

For Example "Unigine Super Position"
https://benchmark.unigine.com/superposition

Unfortunately I can't see from the photos if the Ryujin is correctly connected. Basically these two coolers should have three cables. Two for coolers (4pin) and one shared for ARGB.

I would suggest to reinstall Armory Crate with this offical tool:
https://www.asus.com/supportonly/armour ... _download/

To avoid reinstalling whole OS.

When you reinstall it normally, it seems to leave some parts of Aura settings, seemingly Asus don't care so much.

I would also recommend to re-plug usb from Ryujin before, to perhaps avoid the reinstall at all.


This is quite a helpful overall:
https://rog-forum.asus.com/t5/asus-soft ... 189/page/2

From the end of page one.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 10 Apr 2023, 14:57

I'm relieved the temperature is okay. :)

I think part of the problem happened when I installed ASRock Polychrome Sync and ASROCK Polychrome RGB Beta.

https://pg.asrock.com/Graphics-Card/AMD ... p#Download

https://pg.asrock.com/MB/AMD/B650E%20PG ... p#Download

I know the Beta app updated something on my motherboard and that is when ROG Ryujin was no longer detected in Armory Crate. I will try reinstalling Armory Crate but I've done that multiple times and it has not been helpful. Do I even need Armory Crate if ROG Ryujin is supposedly working like its supposed to?

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 10 Apr 2023, 15:32

You first should test it, if that works for you and actually it will start to rotate when temp will go up. Check the connectors, re-connect usb.

Otherwise, you don't, if you omit ARGB.

Again, there might be 3rd party apps doing so.

See here:
https://www.maketecheasier.com/best-rgb-sync-software/

These might be capable to control it all.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 10 Apr 2023, 16:21

https://i.postimg.cc/vHGXf03M/Untitled.jpg

What am I supposed to do here? It says the selected settings are too high for my video card. Should I run it anyway?

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 10 Apr 2023, 17:22

mr.hackcrag wrote: 10 Apr 2023, 16:21 https://i.postimg.cc/vHGXf03M/Untitled.jpg

What am I supposed to do here? It says the selected settings are too high for my video card. Should I run it anyway?
EDIT: I ran it and this was the result. What does it mean?

https://i.postimg.cc/FFP1VZ43/result.jpg

Also, no matter how I install armory crate, it always freezes on startup and never runs. I uninstalled it completely.

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 10 Apr 2023, 19:12

That identification of GPU is a bit too short, pls reinstall drivers.

For driver reinstallation, go to:
https://www.amd.com/en/support
Pick "Auto-Detect and Install for Windows® 10/11*" up on the page, go for Download, install run and it will automatically install latest drivers for both, MB and GPU.

After reinstallation re-run this Unigine test again. Then go for compare.

Any strange noise, humming, high temperatures during the test? Were coolers on Ryujin spinning? Observe your PC carefully ;)

PS It might be wiser to completely uninstall Polychrome before reinstalling drivers. Why not to try https://www.signalrgb.com 3rd party Apps, once the drivers will be reinstalled?
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 10 Apr 2023, 20:39

AMD was already installed and updated prior.

No fans turned on either cooler or GPU at all. Frames per second was around 14.

As for temperature, you can see it didn't record any on the GPU probably because the GPU was not operating. When I went into "Game" test mode it was so slow and laggy.

As for noise, I've always thought my PC was too loud when idle in a quiet room, but I don't know if it is normal or not.

I've checked-in the PC back to Microcenter and they are going to run diagnostics as this is beyond my comprehension.

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 11 Apr 2023, 06:33

Your GPU is not correctly detected, that's why reinstallation. As your GPU is not detected even after reinstallation, giving it back to mc is the best what you could do.

Still chances, that is all caused by messed drivers is very high. Anyway, they will tell you ;)
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 19 Apr 2023, 17:11

PC was crashing during their testing and not creating crash dumps according to worker. He ultimately determined there was an issue with the GPU and it was swapped out with a new one. Testing continues to see if it resolves the problem. After that they will inspect the RGB issues.

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 20 Apr 2023, 12:22

They said GPU was faulty and they replaced the GPU.

The RAM RGB is not compatible with motherboard RGB control software.

They suggested considering installing 3 fans in the top of the case to improve airflow and keep temperature lower, but also said that would increase noise.

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 20 Apr 2023, 13:12

Interesting. Can they recommend some RAM with compatible RGB with the board, about the same price tag and parameters? If so, you could try to swap them.

Coolers are not necessary "in the top" but "at the bottom". Do you have any here? (It's actually second time, when I'm asking this. Originally it was counted on them and they are in my recommendation.)
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 20 Apr 2023, 16:07

I don't believe there are coolers in the bottom, but I will ask them. What do you recommend?

I'm actually surprised when he said RAM RGB is not compatible with board because I was able to change the RAM RGB before. Eventually, everything stopped working the way it should which is what prompted me to check-in PC.

Something I've never seen work is the RGB on the ROG Ryujin AIO fans. I need to ask them about that too.

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby Pol » 20 Apr 2023, 20:20

https://hyte.com/store/y60?v=113

According tech spec:

Fan Support (Bottom)
2x 120mm/140mm (2x 120mm, 1300 RPM included)

If you check pics, there's space for them. But most likely you need to remove the grill and then put in everything else, including MB, GPU etc..
(Note, that they might be already in place. You need to take a look.)

As of RGB compatibility, navigate them to the third party software which I linked. ARGB is having many standards and it's really impossible to warrant what works with what afar. So, it could be that RAM works, with that third party solution. Otherwise I would stay away from both of official solutions, being it Armore Crate (seemingly the worst) or Polychrome (thought, that one is better).
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1524
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Re: Tech Corner

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 23 Apr 2023, 01:54

He said the bottom came preinstalled with fans. As for the top, he said my MB had 2 open fan headers and recommended the following for least noise, although no rbg.

https://www.microcenter.com/product/640 ... ab-reviews

The downside was that he was going to charge me an additional $20 installation fee because it was added after the original build which I find to be poor business practice.


Return to “Campfire”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests