heroes 3 wog level 8 creatures

Official forum of the Wake of Gods mod to Heroes of Might and Magic III.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 12 2007, 19:46

And was here any error report during the installation? Did you seen the unicorn and window with message that installation was successfully finished? Can you play WoG maps?
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
dark raider
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 140
Joined: 03 Jan 2006

Postby dark raider » Jun 12 2007, 19:58

I dont know if this is how it normally does but it installs the game with the progress bar...and when it comes to 12% the screen with the progress bar turns all white...and then it looks like that fora minute or so...then the progress bar runs quickly to 100% and there is a grey box coming up thath tells me that the game has been installed sucsessfully... and yes I can play the wog maps...

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 12 2007, 20:36

Then it's installed but somehow incorrectly. We may do a test, I will link you wog. exe, download it and try with it once again.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
dark raider
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 140
Joined: 03 Jan 2006

Postby dark raider » Jun 12 2007, 20:59

I cant use the file you linked...it wont even start the game now...I unzipped it to the c:\programs\3do\heroes3complete folder..and it asked me if I wanted to owerwrite the existing file called WOG.exe...I said yes and now it wont start....nothing happens when I try and double click the icon....

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 12 2007, 21:22

That's bad because this is the right file. In that case I must assume that they changed something, ie Ubisoft in theirs Platinum Edition. But I think that I may offer different solution for you.

Edit: We may try to change setting, by passing you file with configuration. First and foremost I would need to know if you have presented file wog.ini?

If so, we may continue tomorrow becuase I need to go to the bed, if not it will be the same in fact . :D

PS And yes, you may try to do a reinstall once again, god knows perhaps it helps.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
dark raider
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 140
Joined: 03 Jan 2006

Postby dark raider » Jun 12 2007, 21:44

does not appear to have any file called wog.ini

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 13 2007, 7:08

That's not good sign. I may try to send it to you as well but if the installation doesn't created more files it will be sure problem.

Here's a link to settings files and script update.

rest in PM
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
dark raider
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 140
Joined: 03 Jan 2006

Postby dark raider » Jun 13 2007, 17:54

I dont suppose you have the installation files you used for your game?? I still can't get it to work..

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 13 2007, 19:19

Can I ask for these woglogs? I need them to determine problem. And yes I have the files which I used for wog installation. But you can check integrity of your allinone yourself. Just test archive integrity in winrar.

However because your installation doesn't reported any errors I don't think that is corrupted.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
dark raider
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 140
Joined: 03 Jan 2006

Postby dark raider » Jun 13 2007, 23:28

what is woglogs...and where do I find them...

User avatar
dark raider
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 140
Joined: 03 Jan 2006

Postby dark raider » Jun 15 2007, 12:24

YES I finally got a download version of wog that worked...now I can play the wog..and see the wogify option button...

another question though...I have seen some pics about a new town call grove town.. how do I get that town...???

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 15 2007, 12:52

Great to hear that ;)

Sadly no new town was completed yet. Most known here are projects for Grove and Bastion but they will be used probably once with 3.59 version. - They aren't done yet.

PS woglog is folder which is created after wog installation with error reports. It's placed normally in the game main folder.
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

kk2583
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 May 2006

Postby kk2583 » Oct 27 2007, 2:24

Hi,

I just started up wog again last week. Tried playing on the highest difficulty and noticed that the 8th level creatures cost 15 rare resources each. Looking at the documentation they should be costing around 3 resources. Is this a bug? or is this because of which wog options I have selected. I have 3.58f installed.

ByteBandit
Archangel
Archangel
Posts: 1432
Joined: 27 Nov 2005

Postby ByteBandit » Oct 27 2007, 7:20

It may be a misprint in the documentation or the documentation has'nt been corrected. Remember.... Level 8 creatures are God like creatures. They really were'nt meant for regular creature play like other HoMM3/WoG creatures are, although, today, they are considered so.
I beleive the team figured the original cost was too low, as far as resources went, so it was bumped up to compensate what they are worth. I guess you could say a little was donated to the Gods? :D

kk2583
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 May 2006

Postby kk2583 » Oct 27 2007, 16:37

thanks for the quick reply. As long as it was intended, I will just need to plan for it from next game.

User avatar
Acid Dragon
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Acid Dragon » Oct 28 2007, 12:18

As the "editor" of the last documentation I can say that there is no mistake about their cost and that the Team has not decided to increase it.

Most probably you're playing with the script "enahnced monsters" turned on which (apart from giving some creatures new specialties) changes the cost of level 8 creatures to a much higher one.

ByteBandit
Archangel
Archangel
Posts: 1432
Joined: 27 Nov 2005

Postby ByteBandit » Oct 28 2007, 15:05

Acid Dragon wrote:As the "editor" of the last documentation I can say that there is no mistake about their cost and that the Team has not decided to increase it.

Most probably you're playing with the script "enahnced monsters" turned on which (apart from giving some creatures new specialties) changes the cost of level 8 creatures to a much higher one.


I think, in the case of kks' post, "decrease" is what he was after. In the game anyway. Also, I did'nt realize you did the doc, AD. I thought Fnord did it. I realize that it us hard to keep up with the doc as scripts change the perspective of the game costantly.

And to kk: I agree with AD. You're probably playing with Arstahds' script "Enhanced Monsters" on.

User avatar
Acid Dragon
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Acid Dragon » Oct 28 2007, 18:56

ByteBandit wrote: Also, I didn't realize you did the doc, AD. I thought Fnord did it. I realize that it us hard to keep up with the doc as scripts change the perspective of the game costantly.


I believe Fnord and other Team members did the first (3.50) version of the documentation, but I did the second and last one as for now (3.58). Of course I used most of the texts that were already there (that's why I used the term 'editor' and not 'author'), but I added some new sections, put graphics directly into the file, gave it a new look and updated it in general.

Anyway, the doc IS updated, however it does not contain the last changes of the "script update" patch (like ctrl-clicking in case of mithril enhancements). However those are only minor details.

ByteBandit
Archangel
Archangel
Posts: 1432
Joined: 27 Nov 2005

Postby ByteBandit » Oct 30 2007, 1:04

I will say that whatever changes that are in the game and are not in the documentation does not "upset" me. I adjust to whatever is thrown at me. After years and years of testing 3.57 and 3.58 and .58f, I am just glad that the syntax errors have drastically reduced next to none. Having some minor errors that may be here or there is irrelevant to me, really. It's all about playability. And I've won many games with WoG now, no matter what settings I use. So, I say, just adjust to the things thrown at you. Adapt and you should do fine. :)

kk2583
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 May 2006

Postby kk2583 » Oct 30 2007, 20:24

Yes I did infact have the enhanced monsters script on. Thanks for the help ByteBandit and Acid Dragon


Return to “Wake of Gods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests