changing starting troops?

Official forum of the Wake of Gods mod to Heroes of Might and Magic III.
mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

changing starting troops?

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 21 Dec 2006, 23:09

I need help with changing the starting troops for heroes. I've managed change it so the heroes starting troops change on day 1 and any new heroes hired during that first week will also have the changes apply. However, after week 1, the troop changes to newly hired heroes doesn't take effect. Here's a sample of what I have:


** function to fix one hero's starting troops

!?FU6100;

!!DO6101/0/6/1:Px16; [iterate through creature slots]


** function to fix one slot

!?FU6101;

!!HEx1:C0/x16/?y1/?y2; [get y1 type y2 qty]
!!VRy1&y1=14:S118; [centaur -> pixie]
!!VRy1&y1=16:S15; [dwarf -> centaur cap]
!!VRy1&y1=18:S20; [wood elf -> pegasus]
!!HEx1:C0/x16/y1/y2; [set creature type/qty]

** end of function


** function to set starting troops for hero

!?FU6105;

!!HEx16:H0/118/30/45; [30-45 pixies]
!!HEx16:H1/15/2/6; [2-6 centaur cap]
!!HEx16:H2/-1/0/0; [no 3rd slot]

** end of function


The second question I have is if it's possible to create new abilities in the crexbon text file. For example, there is an abililty in the text file that casts fireball after attacking. Is it possible to make a whole new ability that's not in the text file, like a creature casting inferno after attacking?

Lastly, how come the sword/arrow icon that let's you choose to do a melee or ranged attack during battle can't be activated if you are the defender in a battle? It says something like "This function has been disabled for network battle" even if you're not playing a network battle.

User avatar
Fnord
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight
Posts: 341
Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: changing starting troops?

Unread postby Fnord » 22 Dec 2006, 07:49

mr.hackcrag wrote:I need help with changing the starting troops for heroes. I've managed change it so the heroes starting troops change on day 1 and any new heroes hired during that first week will also have the changes apply. However, after week 1, the troop changes to newly hired heroes doesn't take effect. Here's a sample of what I have:
There's an ERM command for changing starting troops. It may do what you want much easier:

H$1/$2/$3/$4 Set army type for newly hired heroes.
$1 = Slot number (0,1,2)
$2 = Monster type (-1 means no monster, see Format C)
$3 = Minimum value of monsters number
$4 = Maximum value of monsters number (may be equal to min number for fixed number)
Comments:
This will be applied to a hero that CANNOT be hired right now. So if Orin and Jeddite are currently available in a tavern, their army WILL NOT be changed until next week. But if you change the army of Crag Hack and he will be available to be hired after you hire Orin or Jeddite, he WILL have the army that you set.
Then, when you hire a hero that appears in a Tavern in the beginning of the week, he will have 2 or 3 slots of army (it's not possible to set 2 or 3 exactly). So you can set 1st and 2nd slots to desired monsters and 3rd slot to -1 monster type. This will result in the hero always having 2 slots of monsters. Then if you hire a Hero, he or she will have only one slot of monsters and number 1.

Example:
Set Army of Orin to Gnoll at the game start
!#HE0:H0/99/3/3H1/-1/2/2H2/-1/0/0;
This may be used later during a game.
!?LE3/7/0; Trigger for cycle
!!DO21000/0/155/1:P; Set Army to all Heroes
!?FU21000;
!!VRv1:Sx16;
!!HEv1:H0/99/3/3H1/-1/2/2H2/-1/0/0;
mr.hackcrag wrote: The second question I have is if it's possible to create new abilities in the crexbon text file. For example, there is an abililty in the text file that casts fireball after attacking. Is it possible to make a whole new ability that's not in the text file, like a creature casting inferno after attacking?
Yes, you can use almost any spell (a few won't work properly but you can try and see). Refer to the file "Stack Experience Bonuses.txt" in the "Data\Text Resource Copy" folder for full details of all possible commands to use in crexpbon.txt.
mr.hackcrag wrote: Lastly, how come the sword/arrow icon that let's you choose to do a melee or ranged attack during battle can't be activated if you are the defender in a battle? It says something like "This function has been disabled for network battle" even if you're not playing a network battle.
This doesn't occur all the time but it's definitely a bug. Hopefully when Slava returns to work on 3.59, it's one that he'll be able to isolate and fix.
- Fnord

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 23 Dec 2006, 01:06

Thanks Fnord. :) I have some more questions though. :S

Does the "pierce shot" script for the marksman really work? It says it deals half damage to the unit behind the target, but I dealt 600 damage to some dragon flies and then I hit the mighty gorgons behind it, but not a single gorgon was killed.

Also, is it possible to change the stat bonuses existing artifacts give through trait files or erm?

And is it possible to change the area of effect of damage spells like fireball using either erm or trait files? I tried changing the the area of effect for the berserk spell using trait files, but it didn't seem to work. :(

User avatar
Fnord
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight
Posts: 341
Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Unread postby Fnord » 23 Dec 2006, 07:54

mr.hackcrag wrote:Thanks Fnord. :) I have some more questions though. :S

Does the "pierce shot" script for the marksman really work? It says it deals half damage to the unit behind the target, but I dealt 600 damage to some dragon flies and then I hit the mighty gorgons behind it, but not a single gorgon was killed.
You would have to contact the script author (or experiment more yourself). It's not a script I use.
mr.hackcrag wrote: Also, is it possible to change the stat bonuses existing artifacts give through trait files or erm?
Not through the trait files but you can simulate it through ERM by subtracting the original bonus and giving the one you wish with the HE:F receiver commands (or just subtracting or adding the difference maybe), using the AE0 and AE1 trigger. There's currently no "real" way to change the artifact bonuses themselves (other than in the executable I suppose).
mr.hackcrag wrote: And is it possible to change the area of effect of damage spells like fireball using either erm or trait files? I tried changing the the area of effect for the berserk spell using trait files, but it didn't seem to work. :(
I don't think it's possible but I could be wrong.
- Fnord

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 24 Dec 2006, 05:40

I like the the enhanced mysticism I skill script that allows you to see in-depth heroes stats and future mage guild spells, but I think the 10-30% mana regeneration is too high. I want to edit the existing script to halve the percentages, but I don't really understand the formula that was used in the script.

User avatar
Gaidal Cain
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 6972
Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Location: Solna

Unread postby Gaidal Cain » 24 Dec 2006, 09:16

mr.hackcrag wrote:I like the the enhanced mysticism I skill script that allows you to see in-depth heroes stats and future mage guild spells, but I think the 10-30% mana regeneration is too high. I want to edit the existing script to halve the percentages, but I don't really understand the formula that was used in the script.
Why, thank you :proud:

IIRC, the script calculates how much 10% of the max mana is (i.e. it takes knowledge and multiplies with bonuses from intelligence). All you'd do is to find the line that assigns the hero's knowledge level to a variable and then halve the value in that variable and all should be fine.
You don't want to make enemies in Nuclear Engineering. -- T. Pratchett

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 24 Dec 2006, 14:51

Gaidal Cain wrote:Why, thank you :proud:

And thank you too. It's a fun script. :)
All you'd do is to find the line that assigns the hero's knowledge level to a variable and then halve the value in that variable and all should be fine.

Do you mean lines 56-66? I halved the values, but it didn't seem to do anything when I tested it.

I've been meaning to do a script that would decrease the % for intelligence skill to 20-35-50% at expert. I'm guessing that would affect your mysticism formula. What would I do then? Sorry, but my math skills really stink. :(
Last edited by mr.hackcrag on 24 Dec 2006, 15:20, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Gaidal Cain
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 6972
Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Location: Solna

Unread postby Gaidal Cain » 24 Dec 2006, 15:17

Well, I don't have the script here, so I can't quite tell exactly how you'd have to modify it, but the bonuses for Intelligence are hardcoded, so they would have to be changed somehow.
You don't want to make enemies in Nuclear Engineering. -- T. Pratchett

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 28 Dec 2006, 18:36

I can't find the hero specialization format in the script editor. How can you adjust the creature specialty bonus to a units speed using the fixed bonus command:

!!HE*:X4/*/*/*/*;

Also, is it possible to use the above command without overriding the normal linear bonus creature specialists receive? (i.e. !!HE*:X1/*)

User avatar
Qurqirish Dragon
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1011
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Flying the skies of Ohlam

Unread postby Qurqirish Dragon » 29 Dec 2006, 16:08

mr.hackcrag wrote:I can't find the hero specialization format in the script editor. How can you adjust the creature specialty bonus to a units speed using the fixed bonus command:

!!HE*:X4/*/*/*/*;
This only modifies attack, defense, and damage.

You can see all the specialty commands here in the ERM for Dummies thread.

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 29 Dec 2006, 17:29

Qurqirish Dragon wrote:This only modifies attack, defense, and damage.
I know. I was wondering if it was possible to increase the speed bonus using the X4 fixed command or having both the X1 and X4 commands working together at the same time. But after reading through the Dummies thread, (aptly named for dummies like me) I'm guessing it's impossible. :(

User avatar
Qurqirish Dragon
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1011
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Flying the skies of Ohlam

Unread postby Qurqirish Dragon » 30 Dec 2006, 14:56

mr.hackcrag wrote:
Qurqirish Dragon wrote:This only modifies attack, defense, and damage.
I know. I was wondering if it was possible to increase the speed bonus using the X4 fixed command or having both the X1 and X4 commands working together at the same time. But after reading through the Dummies thread, (aptly named for dummies like me) I'm guessing it's impossible. :(
You can do it another way.
In battle, use the BM:S receiver to change the speed of an individual stack.

At the start of battle, you will need to check the heroes involved. If a hero has the specialization, then check through all his/her creatures (0..20 for attacker, 21..41 for defender) and any of the appropriate type(s) can have their speed increased. As this is temporary, only for this battle, you so not have to worry about restoring them later; they will revert to normal at the end of battle.

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 31 Dec 2006, 02:28

Thanks QD. I really appreciate it. :)

Can anyone tell me if the Commander creatures have attributes like "Undead" or "Mechanical"? I made a succubus into a neutral unit, but it doesn't act like a "normal" monster. It's unaffected by the liches death cloud, ressurect and mirror image doesn't work on them, and I think they might be immune to mind spells to name just a few. Are these things hard coded, or can they be changed?

User avatar
Qurqirish Dragon
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1011
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Flying the skies of Ohlam

Unread postby Qurqirish Dragon » 31 Dec 2006, 14:55

mr.hackcrag wrote:Thanks QD. I really appreciate it. :)

Can anyone tell me if the Commander creatures have attributes like "Undead" or "Mechanical"? I made a succubus into a neutral unit, but it doesn't act like a "normal" monster. It's unaffected by the liches death cloud, ressurect and mirror image doesn't work on them, and I think they might be immune to mind spells to name just a few. Are these things hard coded, or can they be changed?
None of the commanders have the "is alive" flag set (this was mainly so a single mighty gorgon couldn't kill a high-level commander on a lucky shot, but there are other reasons). Originally, the necro commander was undead - I do not recall if this was changed.

In any even, creatures that are not "alive" are immune to death stare,resurrection, lich death cloud, and some other stuff.

If you want a commander to be susceptible to these, then activate the "is live" bit - there is an ERM command to do this, but I do not know off hand if you can adjust for individual stacks in battle (check the options for BM) or only for the global attributes (check the options for MO)

mr.hackcrag
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 05 Jul 2006

Unread postby mr.hackcrag » 31 Dec 2006, 18:03

Qurqirish Dragon wrote:
If you want a commander to be susceptible to these, then activate the "is live" bit - there is an ERM command to do this, but I do not know off hand if you can adjust for individual stacks in battle (check the options for BM) or only for the global attributes (check the options for MO)
Hi. I used the !!MA:X177/16; function to make the creature "alive" and now it is affected by ressurect, death cloud, etc. Thanks a ton for your help. I wouldn't have thought about it otherwise. :)

Only thing that doesn't work is that the creauture can't be selected as a target when casting mirror image. I thought the problem was that it considered the creature a higher level than the 1-7 requirement for casting mirror image, but even after I lowered it's level with !!MA:L177/4;
it still didn't work. :( Oh well, at least I fixed the main problem.


Return to “Wake of Gods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests