Disabling the annoying intro to battle music?

Official forum of the Wake of Gods mod to Heroes of Might and Magic III.

Moderator: Moderators

Pollo2002
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 24 Jan 2006

Disabling the annoying intro to battle music?

Postby Pollo2002 » Apr 1 2010, 14:10

When you enter a battle you lose several seconds by listening a music.
The only way to disable that is to turn off sound effects.
But i want to have sound effects on.
But i want to be able to give orders right away and not having to wait the music to finish.
Anyway to disable that music without turning off the sound effects? or at least being able to do something in that time? Via ERM or any other way?

User avatar
GreatEmerald
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 3329
Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands

Postby GreatEmerald » Apr 1 2010, 17:39

*drumroll*

Why would you ever want to disable it? It's a good moment of suspense.

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Apr 1 2010, 19:38

Easy, delete the intro battle taunts. From /mp3 folder.
Or just rename...
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

Skeeve
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 18
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA

Intro Battle Taunt

Postby Skeeve » Jun 3 2010, 15:20

I was interested in disabling the battle intro music too, but I can't find any appropriate file in the MP3 folder. Any idea what the filename is?
I've listened to every single one and none of them match what I'm hearing at the beginning of the battle.

User avatar
emrysblack
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 50
Joined: 02 Apr 2006

Re: Intro Battle Taunt

Postby emrysblack » Jun 6 2010, 21:13

Skeeve wrote:I was interested in disabling the battle intro music too, but I can't find any appropriate file in the MP3 folder. Any idea what the filename is?
I've listened to every single one and none of them match what I'm hearing at the beginning of the battle.

I believe the intro music is not inside the music folder but in the .snd file in the data folder

Skeeve
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 18
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: Intro Battle Taunt

Postby Skeeve » Jun 9 2010, 4:49

emrysblack wrote:I believe the intro music is not inside the music folder but in the .snd file in the data folder


I noticed that file, but is it possible to extract and remove the intro music? I think it's needed to format the sound for the rest of the game.

User avatar
Salamandre
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1032
Joined: 13 May 2006
Location: France
Contact:

Postby Salamandre » Jun 9 2010, 10:52

Place 7 empty wav files in Data and name them:

BATTLE00.WAV
[......]
BATTLE07.WAV

Thats all. To get other sounds disabled, get resedit and extract the Heroes3.snd into a folder, replace the ones you don't like with empty wavs (same name, placed in data folder)

Skeeve
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 18
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA

Postby Skeeve » Jun 11 2010, 16:45

Salamandre wrote:Place 7 empty wav files in Data and name them:

BATTLE00.WAV
[......]
BATTLE07.WAV

Thats all. To get other sounds disabled, get resedit and extract the Heroes3.snd into a folder, replace the ones you don't like with empty wavs (same name, placed in data folder)


Thanks - I will try that. But how does it work? The main program gets the intro music from Heroes3.snd, but defaults to any *.wav files in the Data folder named Battlexx.wav? How odd.

User avatar
GreatEmerald
CH Staff
CH Staff
Posts: 3329
Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Location: Netherlands

Postby GreatEmerald » Jun 11 2010, 17:00

The program searches for any unpacked resources in the Data folder. If it doesn't find any, it takes them from the packed .snd file.

Skeeve
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 18
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey, USA

Postby Skeeve » Jun 14 2010, 18:49

GreatEmerald wrote:The program searches for any unpacked resources in the Data folder. If it doesn't find any, it takes them from the packed .snd file.


Interesting. Well I tried and it worked. Thanks for the tip!


Return to “Wake of Gods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests