Why hasn't HOMM series won many more fans?

The new Heroes games produced by Ubisoft. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.
RustedSorrow
Leprechaun
Leprechaun

Why hasn't HOMM series won many more fans?

Unread postby RustedSorrow » 16 Feb 2008, 12:20

I started playing Heroes of Might and Magic 5 last year in January. After that I have played both the expansion packs that have been released. The game is simply enchanting and absorbing. I have recommended it to many of my friends and all of them simply loved it. This is quite rare. On most occasions, about 25% of the people don't like popular games like Elder Scrolls 4 and Half life series. But to see them like HOMM5 means the game or the theme on which it has been based has something special.

But I guess it isn't that popular. According to me it should have won many many more fans than it currently has. Of course, it isn't absolutely polished: the AI is dumb and predictable and the difficulty gradient is odd. Some missions are relatively easier than others.

So what is the main reason behind it being no that popular. Lack of proper advertising and marketing? Or is the game simply not good enough even though the theme is certainly one of the best?

Akul
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero

Unread postby Akul » 16 Feb 2008, 12:26

Because it is a TBS, I guess.
I am back and ready to... ready to... post things.

Elvin
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero

Unread postby Elvin » 16 Feb 2008, 14:25

H5 has a dedicated fan base but the fans are divided. Most loved H3/h2, some H4 so each of us has an ideal heroes game in mind. That way it's easy for them to be disappointed. Also H5 had the worst release ever full of bugs and imbalances so people were more wary.
I, for one, am dying to find out what colour they paint Michael's toenails.
- Metathron

Kristo
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight

Unread postby Kristo » 16 Feb 2008, 14:42