Is HoMMV might heavy?

The new Heroes games produced by Ubisoft. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.
Bedivere
Leprechaun
Leprechaun

Is HoMMV might heavy?

Unread postby Bedivere » 09 Aug 2007, 20:02

Certainly gone are the days of HoMM2 and 3, when even late in the game a single Chain Lightning or Meteor Shower from a high level hero could devastate an opposing army (not to mention the whole Armagedon/Armegedon-proof unit combination); or when mass Bless, Haste, Prayer, or Slow would decide the battle; or when the mobility gained from Dimension Door and Town Portal would spell certain doom if an oponent got them before you. But it seems to me that magic in HoMMV, especially direct damage spells, is somewhat underpowered.

Granted, I'm relatively new to the game, and I've played mostly might-leaning Heroes and campaigns (Haven, Inferno, Necro), but it seem that often my hero could be doing something more useful than casting spells - attacking if nothing else - and the spell I do cast don't have the battle deciding qualities of previous games. It is the troops I have that are the deciding factor in any battle, and magic, my own or my opponents, simply augments the troops, perhaps minimizing loss, or deciding evenly matched battles, but can't really substitute for strong army. Is this the general perception, or have I just not played a properly developed spell caster yet?

(I'm not saying this is a bad thing - it's just different than previous games, where heroes could specialize in might or magic, and these two focuses were relatively well balanced. Or, again, maybe I just haven't seen what magic can do yet...)

Corribus
Round Table Knight
Round Table Knight

Unread postby Corribus » 09 Aug 2007, 20:31

Definitely not might heavy, but direct-damage spells aren't what they used to be, unless you are a dark elf.