combat skills

The new Heroes games produced by Ubisoft. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.
saugeen
Peasant
Peasant

combat skills

Unread postby saugeen » 26 Jul 2007, 19:06

I usually use auto-combat when I the heroes games. I am not very good at doing combat manually, but sometimes it is necessary. So i need some suggestions to be effective, especially when fighting an army and hero this is stronger than my hero and army. Any suggestions or hints would be appreciated.

AngelEyes
Pixie
Pixie

Re: combat skills

Unread postby AngelEyes » 26 Jul 2007, 19:50

saugeen wrote:I usually use auto-combat when I the heroes games.
That's usually not a good idea, as you will often lose mana and a few troops even in battles that should be a cake walk (flyers are especially vulnerable to this). These small losses can add up in close games. When you go to fight that tough hero at the end, it can really come back to bite you. I would suggest not using auto-combat unless you have overwhelming odds in your favor.

That being said what kind army are you going up against in this particular battle? Do you have any good high level spells?

Alamar
Golem
Golem

Unread postby Alamar » 26 Jul 2007, 20:28

Everything depends on the exact circumstances of the battle so I'm not sure how easy it would be to give exact advice.

If you're playing against the AI then your best best is making sure that you have a better made hero than the AI hero. The AI may have more levels but your skills / abilities / etc. need to work well with each other.

For example it's fairly likely that you'll be able to cast MASS SPELLS while the AI won't because only you have the proper skills.

If your army has lots of shooting power [and not a lot of melee power] compared to the enemy then trying to get them to attack you while you're in your castle would be good. This will probably give your shooters a few extra turns to soften the AI up.