General Advice When Starting Out

The new Heroes games produced by Ubisoft. Please specify which game you are referring to in your post.
Zuyx
Leprechaun
Leprechaun

General Advice When Starting Out

Unread postby Zuyx » 02 Jul 2011, 02:04

I am new to the game and series, so don't have a lot of experience. Just wondering what is some useful information that is helpful to know when starting out to help improve.

Sorry if there is a topic like this already.

Qurqirish Dragon
Genie
Genie

Unread postby Qurqirish Dragon » 02 Jul 2011, 11:59

I know you'll think this isn't helpful, but:
Play on easy, so you have lots of resources to start with. Play a few individual scenarios before the campaigns (but do the first campaign scenario before this, since IIRC that is a "tutorial" level), and try different strategies (explore thoroughly vs. expand rapidly, go for strong troops vs. upgrade lower level vs. improve magic) to see how they work, and which you prefer. Play with the haven faction, since that's what you'll start with in the campaigns. After a few games, go to the campaign.

There are strategy articles on CH if you want that, but try developing your own playstyle first, and use those only if you start to get frustrated (since the point is to enjoy the game, right? B-) )
Matthew Charlap -353 HoMM map reviews and counting...

cjlee
Spectre
Spectre

Re: General Advice When Starting Out

Unread postby cjlee » 05 Jul 2011, 07:10

Zuyx wrote:I am new to the game and series, so don't have a lot of experience. Just wondering what is some useful information that is helpful to know when starting out to help improve.

Sorry if there is a topic like this already.
The following is known to experienced players and probably terribly helpful to a newbie:

1) This being close to an RPG game, always identify the roles your troops play and respect these roles.