Hexen Beyond Heretic

Because we play other games too.

Moderators: Moderators, Celestial Heavens Staff

User avatar
Sure Valla
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 587
Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Location: Celeste

Hexen Beyond Heretic

Postby Sure Valla » Jun 24 2010, 11:01

Image

Ok you guys, so I played this game my a** off when i was young, so I found it again (YAY)

So i started to play and mentioned that i have Music but no sound.


Does anyone know how to fix this?
The setup interface (screenshot), shows Sound Fx card, but what do i have to do?

Image
Image



Can anyone help me?

I really like to play with Sound again!





Valla

User avatar
TheUndeadKing
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 588
Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Contact:

Postby TheUndeadKing » Jun 24 2010, 13:55

Just pick one of those sound card options, preferably Sound Blaster, and try again. If those options don't work, then:


1. Install VDMSound and re-run the game/setup to see if it works.

OR

2. Download DOSBox and try running the game using this emulator.
"I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free..." - Michelangelo

User avatar
Sure Valla
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 587
Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Location: Celeste

Postby Sure Valla » Jun 24 2010, 15:05

Both programs are hard to use, I dont understand them to be honest ;|


If i enable Sound Blaster, there is Sound. But one problem: it cracks, really loud. And the game starts to lag.

User avatar
Sure Valla
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 587
Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Location: Celeste

Postby Sure Valla » Jun 24 2010, 15:14

Selecting Sound Blaster, Creates 4 more options here they are:

Image
Image
Image
Image


I can't run them all one by one, because that would take Weeks!
Last edited by Sure Valla on Apr 17 2013, 19:50, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Humakt
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 582
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Humakt » Jun 24 2010, 15:30

You ought to really use dosbox. It is quite easy to use as long as you spend couple minutes reading tutorial. And most old dos games run fine under it. It doesn't matter what you choose here, it won't work as well as in emulator.
Thundermaps
"Death must be impartial. I must sever my ties, lest I shield my kin."

User avatar
Lord13
Demon
Demon
Posts: 311
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Around Harmondale

Postby Lord13 » Jun 24 2010, 16:24

DosBox is the only solution I can find too. Is not so hard if
you search the net for some tutorials, is about learning 3-4
commands and u can install and play any old dos game.

A quick example :

If the the directory the game is installed in is
c:/games/Hexen then you must type at the dos box:

mount c c:/ (this mounts at the virtual dos-box drive c your hard disk c: )
c:/
cd games/Hexen (with this u go at the directory u typed)
Hexen.exe (or the name the .exe file is, or Setup.exe for the setup if has this name)

Then the game will start (or the setup, whatever you typed), with alt+enter
you can switch to full screen, with ctrl+F12 you can raise your (virtual) cpu
cycles, very useful if a game goes slow (lags) , ctrl+F11 lower them if you
think it goes so...fast :P

Those are the basics, is really really simple and very useful if you want
to enjoy older games.

edit : if you are running the game from CD (virtual or not) needs few
more commands to mount it. Feel free to ask.
Every man dies...
Every beast dies...
Only heroes live forever!

User avatar
AngelEyes
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 129
Joined: 13 Sep 2006

Postby AngelEyes » Jun 24 2010, 17:04

Hexen! Oh, this game was great!

But the above posters are right: use DosBox if you want to play it properly. There's even a config file with an autoexec.bat section where you can enter all of the mounting commands. This saves you the trouble of typing them each time you want to play the game.

Have you played the expansion, Deathkings of the Dark Citadel?

Asmodis
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 17
Joined: 05 Apr 2010

Postby Asmodis » Jun 24 2010, 20:31

In most cases, you can just drag an .exe onto the dosbox.exe to quickstart a game/program without doing the whole mounting stuff, y'know.

User avatar
TheUndeadKing
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 588
Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Contact:

Postby TheUndeadKing » Jun 24 2010, 20:42

Sure Valla wrote:I can't run them all one by one, because that would take Weeks!
Look: 7 x 3 x 6 x 8 = 1008 Chances.

lol, just stick with the most common configs, which are:

Address: 220
IRQ: 7
DMA: 1


Address: 220
IRQ: 5
DMA: 3
"I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free..." - Michelangelo

User avatar
Marzhin
Pit Lord
Pit Lord
Posts: 1204
Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Location: Montreuil, France
Contact:

Postby Marzhin » Jun 24 2010, 21:13

Sure Valla wrote:Both programs are hard to use, I dont understand them to be honest ;|


Me neither, so I use a FrontEnd called DFend :

http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/

It makes DosBox much easier to use :)

User avatar
Lord13
Demon
Demon
Posts: 311
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Around Harmondale

Postby Lord13 » Jun 25 2010, 14:22

Asmodis wrote:In most cases, you can just drag an .exe onto the dosbox.exe to quickstart a game/program without doing the whole mounting stuff, y'know.


Oh, really? cool, haven't use dos-box sometime now, so I guess is
a feature of a newer version, or I was so blind that never saw an
instruction like this :D
Every man dies...

Every beast dies...

Only heroes live forever!

User avatar
Sure Valla
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 587
Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Location: Celeste

Postby Sure Valla » Jun 26 2010, 10:15

AngelEyes wrote:Have you played the expansion, Deathkings of the Dark Citadel?



I never got that far when I was a kid!
I still got it though, will be playing it as soon as i Finished Hexen clean!

TheUndeadKing wrote:lol, just stick with the most common configs, which are:

Address: 220
IRQ: 7
DMA: 1


Address: 220
IRQ: 5
DMA: 3


Nope, didn't work for me!

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9240
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 26 2010, 10:27

Then check your settings in the dosbox config file. What sound card you are having configured, with what settings? You may also change it from there and then consequently in the game.

I don't know if I have dosbox installed, let see. (Pitty my old opl3sax-direct bridge will not work here)

>> dosbox.conf

Boy, I loved Hexen when I was kid. These were times! :D

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
You must have a mouse attached to the computer. (We mean the input device; please do not glue or staple helpless little animals to the keyboard.) The mouse driver must be Microsoft mouse version 8.01 or higher or something fully compatible with this.
~Your Truly Steam

User avatar
Sure Valla
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 587
Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Location: Celeste

Postby Sure Valla » Jun 26 2010, 10:32

Lord13 wrote:A quick example :
mount c c:/ (this mounts at the virtual dos-box drive c your hard disk c: )
c:/
cd games/Hexen (with this u go at the directory u typed)
Hexen.exe (or the name the .exe file is, or Setup.exe for the setup if has this name)

Then the game will start (or the setup, whatever you typed), with alt+enter
you can switch to full screen, with ctrl+F12 you can raise your (virtual) cpu
cycles, very useful if a game goes slow (lags) , ctrl+F11 lower them if you
think it goes so...fast :P


I can't launch the game.

I type the loction of the file which is: C:/Hexen/HEXEN.EXE but if i enter this nothing happends

User avatar
Pol
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9240
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: IN SOMNIS VERITAS
Contact:

Postby Pol » Jun 26 2010, 11:37

If you're in directory Hexen, you should write only "hexen" (without quotes). Considering that you saved your setup or it does autosaved, it's the way to go :)

Or the other end, looking on the demo conception. If you will set your sound right you should just click "Save and play Hexen" and first it should launch itself.

Apropos, when dosbox starts it' typing out current sound settings. Thus no need to looking for them anywhere else.

Tried demo, worked like a charm on first try :D
"We made it!"
The Archives | Collection of H3&WoG files | Older albeit still useful | CH Downloads
PC Specs: A10-7850K, FM2A88X+K, 16GB-1600, SSD-MLC-G3, 1TB-HDD-G3, MAYA44, SP10 500W Be Quiet

User avatar
TheUndeadKing
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 588
Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Contact:

Postby TheUndeadKing » Jun 26 2010, 14:11

I don't know what's so hard about it, but all you have to do is:

1. Start DOSBox
2. Type mount c c:\ and press Enter.
3. Type c: and press Enter.
4. Type cd hexen and press Enter.
5. Type hexen and press Enter.

(NOTE: it's not "c:/" it's "c:\")
"I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free..." - Michelangelo

User avatar
Sure Valla
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 587
Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Location: Celeste

Postby Sure Valla » Jun 27 2010, 9:14

It worked!

BUT:

The games launches i press alt+enter for full screen, but still NO sound effects, only music.

And the game isn't 'fully fullscreen' it still has a black bar around the screen.

How do i fix these 2 problems?

User avatar
TheUndeadKing
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 588
Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Contact:

Postby TheUndeadKing » Jun 27 2010, 16:42

I believe those black bars can be removed by increasing in-game screen size.

As for sound, try re-running setup in DOSBox (after cd hexen, type setup and press Enter). Also, try these settings for Sound Blaster:

Address: 220
IRQ: 5
DMA: 5
"I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free..." - Michelangelo

User avatar
Sure Valla
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 587
Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Location: Celeste

Postby Sure Valla » Jun 27 2010, 16:49

Ingame size is at his maximum still got the bars (screenshot)


Image




Sound still NOT working.

User avatar
TheUndeadKing
Swordsman
Swordsman
Posts: 588
Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Contact:

Postby TheUndeadKing » Jun 27 2010, 23:16

OK, follow these steps:

1. Go to Start Menu > DOSBox > DOSBox.conf
(A text document will open)

2. Now scroll down until you find the line "aspect=false". Change it to aspect=true. Then save and close the document.

3. Open DOSBox.

4. Press Alt+Enter to go to full screen mode.

5. Type mount c c:\ and press Enter.

6. Type c: and press Enter.

7. Type cd hexen and press Enter.

8. Type setup and press Enter.

9. Now select these settings:

Choose Music Sound Card - Sound Blaster
Select Port Address - 220

Choose Sound FX Card - Sound Blaster
Select Port Address: 220
Select IRQ: 7
Select DMA channel: 1
Number of Sound FX to mix: 3 (you can increase this later)

10. Save parameters and launch Hexen.


(Note: You'll only need to do the Setup steps once. If these steps work, then launching Hexen from DOSBox will be enough in the future.)
"I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free..." - Michelangelo


Return to “Hall of the Heretics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests