mmtools development

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).

Moderator: Moderators

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 10 2009, 20:47

Small fix, related to bug with "water/hydro suits" of previous release of patcher (so -5 changes). No more other fixes yet. Next versions 'll be .dll+GUI combo, no more console patchers (need more flexibility and space for additional code and data - to fix software mode, resize in-game pictures, improve engine etc.).
MMResTool027fix.zip

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 13 2009, 22:51

Short and very common instruction on patching English version of MM7:
1) install MM7 game;
2) apply MOK patch to it;
3) unpack "MMResTool027fix.zip" to MM7 game folder (where "mm7.exe" exists)
4) go to MM7 game folder and launch "mmt_d3d_screen.bat" to patch resolution (by default to 1024x768, if need other, change values in .bat)
If all right, 592 changes must be reported.
5) launch the game to check, how it work after patching;
6) if all OK, launch "mmt_d3d_textures.bat" to convert textures/sprites
from software-mode .LODs to hardware mode .HWLs. Say "yes" to
overwrite old (original) .hwl-s (in case you sure you need it :) Wait until all conversion 'll be done (several thousands of pictures converted).
7) launch game to play it.

In GUI version it all be more easy (and other .exe-related options will be provided).

phamlongtuan
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 110
Joined: 18 Jan 2009

Postby phamlongtuan » Apr 20 2009, 7:15

mmtool wrote:Short and very common instruction on patching English version of MM7:
1) install MM7 game;
2) apply MOK patch to it;
3) unpack "MMResTool027fix.zip" to MM7 game folder (where "mm7.exe" exists)
4) go to MM7 game folder and launch "mmt_d3d_screen.bat" to patch resolution (by default to 1024x768, if need other, change values in .bat)
If all right, 592 changes must be reported.
5) launch the game to check, how it work after patching;
6) if all OK, launch "mmt_d3d_textures.bat" to convert textures/sprites
from software-mode .LODs to hardware mode .HWLs. Say "yes" to
overwrite old (original) .hwl-s (in case you sure you need it :) Wait until all conversion 'll be done (several thousands of pictures converted).
7) launch game to play it.

In GUI version it all be more easy (and other .exe-related options will be provided).


Hello, just come and say hello and million thanks for your great job. Keep it work man. However, do you have any plan to move this work on MM6, i love to see that.

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 20 2009, 14:05

Thanks :) Yes, hi-res patches 'll be made to all MM (6,7,8) for both S/W and D3D modes. And engine itself 'll be updated to use more modern DirectX versions (instead of 6.1), 32-bit color, smoothing of textures in S/W mode etc. But with time and step by step, because I've several other projects (and real-life work too).

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1006
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Bandobras Took » Apr 20 2009, 19:29

This is fantastic work! The game looks great in 1280x1024!

Unfortunately, it's also crashing (internal error) when I try to open the spellbook for my Cleric. Is this a known issue?
Far too many people speak their minds without first verifying the quality of their source material.

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 20 2009, 21:17

No, I have not this error and nobody reported it yet. So thanks for reporting. May be it is some issue with resolution (I'm mostly testing patch in 1024x768) or MOK-patch version related. I'll try to catch and fix it in nearest several days. In other case may be next (.dll+GUI) version of patch 'll help.
And if somebody else have such serious issues, please report me too (to fix them). Because my PC have not any seriouse issue with last version of patch, nothing crashing and all playable. Is such serious bugs exists on some other PC (especially crushes), this is abnormal thing, which need to be reported and fixed.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1006
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Bandobras Took » Apr 20 2009, 22:22

If it's a glitch, it's irregular -- I can access the spellbook now. I'll let you know if I can duplicate it.

Edit: And now it's happening again, and crashing at the character inventory screen, as well.
Far too many people speak their minds without first verifying the quality of their source material.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1006
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Bandobras Took » Apr 21 2009, 2:23

Seems to be a random crash whenever it tries to pull up a non-standard screen -- I just had it happen when trying to play Arcomage.

Whatever the problem, it looks like entering a new area clears it. Exiting/restarting will not clear it once it starts up, but forcing the game to load a different area allows me to once again access spell screens, etc.
Far too many people speak their minds without first verifying the quality of their source material.

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 21 2009, 14:05

Thanks. May be this happen because lack of space for engine in-memory buffers in higher resolutions. In patch I was forced to use minimal possible size for them because of lack of free space in original .exe. So may be this buffers become overflown with data at some points and cause game crush. Btw, S/W mode not yet supported in patch because lack of space for engine hi-res buffers too.
In next version of patch (with external .dll usage) I'll be able to allocate memory buffers of any size, so problem possibly 'll be solved (I hope).
In other case I'll ask you to send me dump of MM memory (file "Mem000.txt"), which MM7 generate after internal errors in it folder. May be analysis of it 'll help.

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 25 2009, 20:37

Next version of my MM viewer tool (which 'll become MM editor tool in future). Need to be placed (unpacked) to game folder, then can be launched. In this version:
-fixed texturing bugs;
-added support of all MM6-8 map formats (but several maps not supported yet);
- preliminary support of outdoor map rendering (only 3D-objects like buildings etc. renderend in this version).
- better camera management. Camera can be moved/rotated etc. by the same keys, as in MM games (look at program caption to list of them). If on some maps nothing visible after loading, try to move/rotate camera - may be no objects in view currently.

MMViewTool002.zip

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1006
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Bandobras Took » Apr 26 2009, 2:33

I've played through all of MM7 at 1280x1024.

Regarding the earlier crashing, it only happened in outdoor areas -- areas that use the "dungeon" engine did not crash when trying to pull up spell screens/inventory.

Also, I occasional got a simple quit to desktop when trying to identify items along the left side of a container.
Far too many people speak their minds without first verifying the quality of their source material.

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 26 2009, 15:12

Thanks for such complete testing :) It is really looks like issue with memory buffers in high resolutions (item identification used them too). On the next week I'll release next version of patch (.dll+GUI), so 'll see.

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » Apr 27 2009, 15:55

Next version of viewer (wannabe editor):
- implementerd earth/water surface rendering for outdoor maps of MM6-7 (MM8 need some .lod-relating work yet). So outdoor maps is pretty recognizable now.
- fixed bug with loading some of indoor maps.

MMViewTool003.zip

mmtool
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 56
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Empire of the Past

Postby mmtool » May 2 2009, 5:35

v.0.2.8 (dll+GUI) not ready yet, but bug seems found - insufficient size of internal game cache. So below small update to patch, which make cache size bigger (so +1 change reported). Hope this help, because 1600x1200 mode was broken too (completly), but now workable again. Thanks for testing.

MMResTool027fix2.zip

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Genie
Genie
Posts: 1006
Joined: 06 Jan 2006

Postby Bandobras Took » May 3 2009, 15:53

This seems to have fixed the problem. Thanks!
Far too many people speak their minds without first verifying the quality of their source material.

User avatar
Allester
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Jun 2017
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: mmtools development

Postby Allester » Jun 2 2017, 1:12

Ok so the game works, and switches to the 1024x768 resolution, however it has black boarders on the right and bottom side with the picture still in 600x400 resolution WITHIN the black bars. I've tried changing the .ini files to have the same matching resolution, uninstalling and reinstalling everything properly, and nothing works.

I am using GrayFaceMod v2.0 and your most recent development tool. As a streamer on Twitch who Runs these glorious games, M&M7 is one of my viewers favorites, but running it in windowed mode is the ONLY way I can play... and trying to play on a 1600x900 monitor in 600x400 resolution on the game is very painful on my eyes. When I found this patch I was like "YES! YES YES!" It worked great for Might & Magic 6... but 7 and 8 have the issue of these black bars on the right and bottom! Please help!

http://imgur.com/a/P9Gz8 A picture of what I see

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1525
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Re: mmtools development

Postby GrayFace » Jun 2 2017, 17:38

I don't think this tool ever came out for something other than MM7. https://sites.google.com/site/angelddea ... lution-mod should be what you need.
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

User avatar
Allester
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Jun 2017
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: mmtools development

Postby Allester » Jun 2 2017, 23:47

GRAYFACE! You lovely person you! Thank you for the quick response, my Twitch Views thank you as well... few as they are. There's a lot of us Might & Magic fans out there that your patches have helped, every time someone asks how its working on my Windows 10 PC, I always send them to your patch I even have the page saved as a fav since I've been asked so often.

According to the posts on this topic, the mod IS for MM7 ... as well as 8 apparently. So I thought it would work, unfortunately adding your site there causes the error "unknown MM7-rel.exe" to pop up any time I try and start the game. When I use mm7-rel.exe it refuses to come out of full screen mode.

STEP BY STEP:
1: Install Might & Magic 7
2: Install MM7Patch (GrayFace Mod v2.0) (your mod seems to try and create the path: c:\Programfiles(x86)\GalaxyClient\Games\Might and Magic 7\{pf}\Might and Magic 7 )
3: Install MM7resmod

This is what I did, and what happens. - Is there any resolution mods for Might & Magic 8 yet? I'd love to start running that in 1024x768 resolution as well.
Last edited by Allester on Jun 2 2017, 23:51, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tomchen1989
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 103
Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Location: Europe / China

Re: mmtools development

Postby tomchen1989 » Jun 3 2017, 5:03

You have to distinguish real high-resolution tools from simple window resize tools.

For example, if your small avatar is the original image, then check out here http://imgur.com/a/0hjSt to see what a real high-resolution version and a simple resized version of it are like


And for now we have these resolution or window size tools for MM6-8:


Real high-resolution tools for MM6-8:

· mmtool's MMResTool (lastest ver: 027fix2): ONLY FOR MM7. Was intended to support MM6 and 8 but apparently the development has been discontinued. It scales only 3D scenes and does not scale 2D game-interface so the "black bars" in your screenshot http://imgur.com/a/P9Gz8 are perfectly normal, and shops' animation background can not be shown, except these, this tool works very nicely in 1024*768. It's the only stable real hi-res tool for MM6-8.
(More description)

· Emjayen's Might & Magic Compatibility Layer Tool: it does scale 2D game-interface (however the scaling does not make the resolution higher) and 3D scenes (this does), but the alpha version was just released half a month ago thus expected to have really a lot of bugs, you should really consider waiting for the stable version if you are playing rather than testing it
(Screenshot)


Simple window resize tools for MM6-8:

· Angel Death's MM6 resolution mod and MM7 resolution mod: they're actually not real hi-res tools but just simple window resizers (I can confirm that for the one for MM6 but I can't get the one for MM7 run, however I guess they are the same)

· D3DWindower and DxWnd: two very good tools that can add support (including window resize) for old games (including MM6, 7 and 8). Before using these tools for MM6-8, you may need to press F4 to switch to full-screen mode if the game is running in windowed mode (because these tools are like shrinking the whole full screen).
Last edited by tomchen1989 on Jun 3 2017, 5:08, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
tomchen1989
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 103
Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Location: Europe / China

Re: mmtools development

Postby tomchen1989 » Jun 3 2017, 5:15

Allester wrote:I am using GrayFaceMod v2.0 and your most recent development tool. As a streamer on Twitch who Runs these glorious games, M&M7 is one of my viewers favorites, but running it in windowed mode is the ONLY way I can play... and trying to play on a 1600x900 monitor in 600x400 resolution on the game is very painful on my eyes. When I found this patch I was like "YES! YES YES!" It worked great for Might & Magic 6... but 7 and 8 have the issue of these black bars on the right and bottom! Please help!
I don't know what "worked great for Might & Magic 6" because mmtool's MMResTool doesn't work for MM6, and, Angel Death's MM6 resolution mod is actually just a simple window resize tool. Please let me know if there's any good and real hi-res tool for MM6.


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests