Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).
Sean1s
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Mar 2021

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Sean1s » Jun 29 2022, 4:05

Hi, I've got a question.
I'm playing revamp and tried to update the localization (Russian). Existing localization (from the first post) is very outdated and only for the base version.
1. I fixed the incorrect "*.str" and "*.txt" from "*LocRU.*T.lod" based on samples from the latest ".T.lod". For example, in localized NPCtext.txt (from "*LocRU.T.lod" ) there are now 2797 lines (I took a sample from revamp.t.lod).
After renaming "02 LocRU.EnglishT.lod" to "n02LocRU.T.lod" there are no errors, but NPCtext.txt from this archive is not used - the texts of the quests are in English.
I assumed that the game reads the archives "*.lod" alphabetically and I renamed "n02LocRU.T.lod" to "revamp_02Loc_RU.T.lod" to read after "revamp.T.lod" (adding prefixes "x","y" or "z" did not fix the problem).
Now when I loading game save (or starting a new game) I see index error messages from Scripts\Global\PromotionTopics.lua (lines 10-21).
It is reported that in NPCText.txt only 2715 lines and an error when calling Game.NPCText[2782], Game.NPCText[2783] etc.
But NPCText.txt both "revamp_02Loc_RU.T.lod" and "revamp.T.lod" contain 2797 lines!
Where does PromotionTopics.lua read the NPCText that is in the Game.NPCText?

Code: Select all

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————
C:\games\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts\Global\PromotionTopics.lua:10: array index (2782) out of bounds [1, 2715]

stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	C:\games\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts/Core/RSMem.lua:1426: in function '__index'
	C:\games\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts\Global\PromotionTopics.lua:10: in main chunk

arguments of '__index':
	t = (table: 0x06507660)
	a = 2782
	v = nil

local variables of '__index':
	aorig = 2782
	a1 = 2781
	n = 2715

upvalues of '__index':
	ptr = nil
	u4 = (table: 0x014b8520)
	GetPtr = (function: 0x01490618)
	obj = (table: 0x041dccf8)
	o = 61823932
	assertnum = (function: 0x0148e330)
	error = (function: 0x011b4108)
	type = (function: builtin#3)
	SetLen = nil
	low = 1
	GetLen = (function: 0x0148d098)
	lenP = nil
	lenA = nil
	size = 8
	count = 2715
	_index = nil
	_newindex = nil
	tonumber = (function: builtin#17)
	beyondLen = nil
	f = (function: 0x02d32230)
	format = (function: builtin#91)
	sOutOfBounds = "array index (%s) out of bounds [%s, %s]"
	tostring = (function: builtin#18)
	tostring2 = (function: 0x0148e398)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————
...s\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts\Global\Quest_EnrothDarkArts.lua:26: array index (2780) out of bounds [1, 2715]

stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	C:\games\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts/Core/RSMem.lua:1426: in function '__index'
	...s\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts\Global\Quest_EnrothDarkArts.lua:26: in main chunk

arguments of '__index':
	t = (table: 0x06507660)
	a = 2780
	v = nil

local variables of '__index':
	aorig = 2780
	a1 = 2779
	n = 2715

upvalues of '__index':
	ptr = nil
	u4 = (table: 0x014b8520)
	GetPtr = (function: 0x01490618)
	obj = (table: 0x041dccf8)
	o = 61823932
	assertnum = (function: 0x0148e330)
	error = (function: 0x011b4108)
	type = (function: builtin#3)
	SetLen = nil
	low = 1
	GetLen = (function: 0x0148d098)
	lenP = nil
	lenA = nil
	size = 8
	count = 2715
	_index = nil
	_newindex = nil
	tonumber = (function: builtin#17)
	beyondLen = nil
	f = (function: 0x02d32230)
	format = (function: builtin#91)
	sOutOfBounds = "array index (%s) out of bounds [%s, %s]"
	tostring = (function: builtin#18)
	tostring2 = (function: 0x0148e398)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————
...mes\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts\Global\StdQuestsFollowers.lua:7: array index (2793) out of bounds [1, 2715]

stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	C:\games\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts/Core/RSMem.lua:1426: in function '__index'
	...mes\m&m\MM_678_eng\Scripts\Global\StdQuestsFollowers.lua:7: in main chunk

arguments of '__index':
	t = (table: 0x06507660)
	a = 2793
	v = nil

local variables of '__index':
	aorig = 2793
	a1 = 2792
	n = 2715

upvalues of '__index':
	ptr = nil
	u4 = (table: 0x014b8520)
	GetPtr = (function: 0x01490618)
	obj = (table: 0x041dccf8)
	o = 61823932
	assertnum = (function: 0x0148e330)
	error = (function: 0x011b4108)
	type = (function: builtin#3)
	SetLen = nil
	low = 1
	GetLen = (function: 0x0148d098)
	lenP = nil
	lenA = nil
	size = 8
	count = 2715
	_index = nil
	_newindex = nil
	tonumber = (function: builtin#17)
	beyondLen = nil
	f = (function: 0x02d32230)
	format = (function: builtin#91)
	sOutOfBounds = "array index (%s) out of bounds [%s, %s]"
	tostring = (function: builtin#18)
	tostring2 = (function: 0x0148e398)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> 
Add.
I found the reason for the errors. I needed to replace some CR/LF with LF (for example with Notepad++) in the added lines in npctext.txt and npcgreet.txt
Last edited by Sean1s on Jun 29 2022, 16:59, edited 6 times in total.

cuthalion
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 24
Joined: 06 Jan 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby cuthalion » Jun 29 2022, 9:57

Thanks again, I just finished MM6, with a good part of MM8 and some of MM7 quests completed.
Now I would like to run around with a 3-char party w/o any master or GM magic chars (for more challenge). Hence a question. Is there a way to travel between the worlds w/o Town Portal which I will not have? I know I found Dimension Door scrolls a couple of times in my campaign, but they were scarse and unreliable - like, no sure way to get at least 5 of them...
Maybe a ship goes between the continents once a year or something? :)

cuthalion
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 24
Joined: 06 Jan 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby cuthalion » Jun 29 2022, 10:30

Addon to my last question: Most likely, there are NPCs that cast Town Portal? I never use NPCs in my party, but for this single reason I could...

User avatar
raekuul
Demon
Demon
Posts: 344
Joined: 05 Jul 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby raekuul » Jun 29 2022, 13:51

You want "Gate Master" NPCs; they spawn randomly (but rarely) and there are a couple that can be hired out of dwellings (one in Free Haven up near the Mind guild, one in the Dragonsand resort area)

User avatar
Maslyonok
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 113
Joined: 18 Oct 2018

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Maslyonok » Jun 29 2022, 14:54

Sean1s wrote: Jun 29 2022, 4:05 Hi, I've got a question.
I'm playing revamp and tried to update the localization (Russian). Existing localization (from the first post) is very outdated and only for the base version.
1. I fixed the incorrect "*.str" and "*.txt" from "*LocRU.*T.lod" based on samples from the latest ".T.lod". For example, in localized NPCtext.txt (from "*LocRU.T.lod" ) there are now 2797 lines (I took a sample from revamp.t.lod).
After renaming "02 LocRU.EnglishT.lod" to "n02LocRU.T.lod" there are no errors, but NPCtext.txt from this archive is not used - the texts of the quests are in English.
I assumed that the game reads the archives "*.lod" alphabetically and I renamed "n02LocRU.T.lod" to "revamp_02Loc_RU.T.lod" to read after "revamp.T.lod" (adding prefixes "x","y" or "z" did not fix the problem).
Now when I loading game save (or starting a new game) I see index error messages from Scripts\Global\PromotionTopics.lua (lines 10-21).
It is reported that in NPCText.txt only 2715 lines and an error when calling Game.NPCText[2782], Game.NPCText[2783] etc.
But NPCText.txt both "revamp_02Loc_RU.T.lod" and "revamp.T.lod" contain 2797 lines!
Where does PromotionTopics.lua read the NPCText that is in the Game.NPCText?
Hi!
It's seems you're using my verson of localization. It's been a while since i uploaded it. We can discuss those new problems in private, if you wish. I'm planning to work on it in nearest weekends.
Revamp version RU (and only loc files)
Revamp version EN

Russian localization (patch 06.03): ask me for these old files

User avatar
justl
Assassin
Assassin
Posts: 274
Joined: 26 Dec 2017

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby justl » Jun 30 2022, 4:50

cuthalion wrote: Jun 29 2022, 9:57 Thanks again, I just finished MM6, with a good part of MM8 and some of MM7 quests completed.
Now I would like to run around with a 3-char party w/o any master or GM magic chars (for more challenge). Hence a question. Is there a way to travel between the worlds w/o Town Portal which I will not have? I know I found Dimension Door scrolls a couple of times in my campaign, but they were scarse and unreliable - like, no sure way to get at least 5 of them...
Maybe a ship goes between the continents once a year or something? :)
hire a gm water master from one of the continents?

cuthalion
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 24
Joined: 06 Jan 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby cuthalion » Jul 1 2022, 6:14

A technical question, please :)
What I am trying to solve: I started a party in Antagarich, hoping to travel there a bit and then change location to MM6 and MM8 for further advancement. But I figured out that to get to Evenmorn Island I need to complete quite a bit of stuff, I cannot just go there on foot. My party is not ready for it and I do not want to spend time on it right now...Restarting the game is too boring, too.

Does anyone know how I can change continent location in a hex editor? I found only how to alter coordinates within a map, but not the map itself.
I would just set myself somewhere in MM6 or MM8 and that would solve my problem.
Alternatively, I can copy-and-paste character data into a new savegame, but again, I see the data but cannot do it properly as I do not know where each character's starting and ending byte is placed in a savegame.

Sean1s
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Mar 2021

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Sean1s » Jul 1 2022, 7:21

cuthalion wrote: Jul 1 2022, 6:14 A technical question, please :)
What I am trying to solve: I started a party in Antagarich, hoping to travel there a bit and then change location to MM6 and MM8 for further advancement. But I figured out that to get to Evenmorn Island I need to complete quite a bit of stuff, I cannot just go there on foot. My party is not ready for it and I do not want to spend time on it right now...Restarting the game is too boring, too.
There is no need to go to Nevermorn Island. There is an alternative point for moving between continents: The Tularean Forest (X: [15360, 15871]; Y: [-10752, -10241])

cuthalion
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 24
Joined: 06 Jan 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby cuthalion » Jul 1 2022, 9:08

Sean1s wrote: Jul 1 2022, 7:21 There is no need to go to Nevermorn Island. There is an alternative point for moving between continents: The Tularean Forest (X: [15360, 15871]; Y: [-10752, -10241])
Thanks a lot, that worked! BTW, is there a hint somewhere in notes? Or is there only a notification when you incidentally move into such "magic" area?

Eksekk
Scout
Scout
Posts: 172
Joined: 19 Jul 2016

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Eksekk » Jul 1 2022, 13:45

cuthalion wrote: Jul 1 2022, 9:08
Sean1s wrote: Jul 1 2022, 7:21 There is no need to go to Nevermorn Island. There is an alternative point for moving between continents: The Tularean Forest (X: [15360, 15871]; Y: [-10752, -10241])
Thanks a lot, that worked! BTW, is there a hint somewhere in notes? Or is there only a notification when you incidentally move into such "magic" area?
If you start in MM7 you get letter asking you to meet "someone" there. Letters given when starting on other continents also tell you one location. Other than that it's implied there might be more, and in fact there's a secret one on each continent, so 2 in total per continent. You can also find/buy dimension door "scrolls", but they are rare and pricey.
Last edited by Eksekk on Jul 1 2022, 19:16, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
reeeload
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Dec 2012

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby reeeload » Jul 1 2022, 15:32

How do you change items stats? I tried changing longsword in items text file and nothing.

Spaceman
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 May 2022

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Spaceman » Jul 1 2022, 21:15

Somehow after updating with the latest version, I am getting an error when ever I go to mm6 or mm7, cannot load file. For example, I tried to start a new game with mm6 or mm7, I get an error message "Can't load file - amins\7intro.smk. Similar situation when I teleport to mm6 or mm7, and go to a shop, the error is that cannot find the *.smk file.

Any ideas on how to get around this. I even completely removed mm8 from my computer, and reinstalled everything, but still got the "cannot find the *.smk file"
mm8 Error.jpg

Eksekk
Scout
Scout
Posts: 172
Joined: 19 Jul 2016

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Eksekk » Jul 1 2022, 22:20

reeeload wrote: Jul 1 2022, 15:32 How do you change items stats? I tried changing longsword in items text file and nothing.
You have to extract the file, edit it with TxtEdit, then reimport it to the archive. Make sure you import to correct one - it's mmmerge.T.lod, and in Revamp possibly revamp.T.lod (archives are usually loaded alphabetically, and later ones override earlier).
Spaceman wrote: Jul 1 2022, 21:15 Somehow after updating with the latest version, I am getting an error when ever I go to mm6 or mm7, cannot load file. For example, I tried to start a new game with mm6 or mm7, I get an error message "Can't load file - amins\7intro.smk. Similar situation when I teleport to mm6 or mm7, and go to a shop, the error is that cannot find the *.smk file.

Any ideas on how to get around this. I even completely removed mm8 from my computer, and reinstalled everything, but still got the "cannot find the *.smk file"

mm8 Error.jpg
Follow point 3 from this install guide (and in future follow it as well, it's most updated and generally best guide).

Forgeforgeforge
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Jun 2022

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Forgeforgeforge » Jul 2 2022, 0:27

I can't seem to get quicksave to work.

my .ini

Code: Select all

QuickSavesCount=4
 ; This many recent quick saves would be kept.

QuickSavesKey=116
 ; Quick Save key code (F11 by default. Use MM6 Controls program to find out the code of a key).

QuickLoadKey=119
 ; Quick Load key code (use MM6 Controls program to find out the code of a key).
but when I press any F key above F4, it just performs an attack action.

Sean1s
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Mar 2021

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Sean1s » Jul 2 2022, 11:04

Forgeforgeforge wrote: Jul 2 2022, 0:27 I can't seem to get quicksave to work.

my .ini

Code: Select all


QuickSavesKey=116
 ; Quick Save key code (F11 by default. Use MM6 Controls program to find out the code of a key).

QuickLoadKey=119
 ; Quick Load key code (use MM6 Controls program to find out the code of a key).
but when I press any F key above F4, it just performs an attack action.
"QuickSavesKey=116" is F11, "QuickLoadKey=119" is F9.
F9 and F11 should not be used in extra settings -> extra keybinds (F5-8 by default).

Spaceman
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 May 2022

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Spaceman » Jul 2 2022, 14:08

Follow up on my post yesterday, I got mm678 merged to work OK. As per the very first post in this thread "Rodril » Nov 13 2017, 14:17", and followed the install instruction on "https://gitlab.com/cthscr/mmmerge/-/wik ... al/Install"

I should of also read the other recent related postings like "Tomsod » Jun 27 2022, 4:39".

This is a classic case of RFM first, before contacting the IT helpdesk....

Everything is working fine now. Even got the pure nostalgia of that first view of New Sorpigal. Ha, what is this letter I have to deliver to a certain Mr. Andover Potbello at the Lonely Knight inn. Who is Sulman the traitor? Ha well, may as well be a good postman...

Gumdoc999
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Sep 2021

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Gumdoc999 » Jul 2 2022, 20:07

Hi all,

Kinda stuck near the end, could use some help. I have 4/5 of my party back from The Breach, missing one person who I assume is in that castle with the turrets in the SW of the map. Saw a few videos of where others have found the remaining "friend", they all seem to be in the same spot. But, that location for me has two Archmages and two Golems stuck in a doorway, I've looked all over the place but just can't find the final friend. Any advice?

Thanks for any help.

cuthalion
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 24
Joined: 06 Jan 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby cuthalion » Jul 2 2022, 22:00

Hi,
is there a reliable NPC Gate Master in Jadame? In a house. Or, if not, what is the best chance to find one? My bro started in MM8 with sorcerer class that cannot be promoted in MM8, and sorcerer would be the only class knowing water magic.

rampage77t
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 32
Joined: 03 Jun 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby rampage77t » Jul 3 2022, 6:44

cuthalion wrote: Jul 2 2022, 22:00 Hi,
is there a reliable NPC Gate Master in Jadame? In a house. Or, if not, what is the best chance to find one? My bro started in MM8 with sorcerer class that cannot be promoted in MM8, and sorcerer would be the only class knowing water magic.

Well, it is a matter of looking for all the npc that are walking through the cities, because inside the houses there are no npc to hire in mm8, they are only found in mm6

User avatar
Kinox
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 60
Joined: 14 Sep 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 15.02.2022]

Unread postby Kinox » Jul 3 2022, 7:15

cuthalion wrote: Jul 2 2022, 22:00 Hi,
is there a reliable NPC Gate Master in Jadame? In a house. Or, if not, what is the best chance to find one? My bro started in MM8 with sorcerer class that cannot be promoted in MM8, and sorcerer would be the only class knowing water magic.
Additionally, on the early game for Jadame continent (because Main Quest line circumstances), you may only rely on Alvar and Shadowspire Regions Maps: as those are the ones that can spawn those more powerful Hirelings. But I was never sure about the respawning time for Hirelings though: I think it's 1 month for MMMerge; it is not the same as Map Region full respawn.

Beyond that, by progressing on the Main Quests, I believe Balthazar's Lair and Regna should also be able to spawn them powerful Hirelings.


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests