Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 19.04.2020]

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).

Moderator: Moderators

Nerval
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Nerval » Apr 3 2020, 13:42

Hello, can someone please help me? After I've finished one of the dungeons in Castle Ironfist I can no longer access my female sorc's inventory. Every time I try to open it, the game hard crashes. It's like she had perhaps picked up some glitched item or something? Casting Fire Aura /w her crashes the game as well. Tested with a fresh install on both HW and SW, same behavior. Do I have to start over :/?

Error log: https://pastebin.com/xju0N9tn

Save game (idk how to attach files to posts here): https://www84.zippyshare.com/v/UkmZWwGT/file.html

User avatar
andrey
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 29 Jul 2019
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby andrey » Apr 3 2020, 17:18

Nerval wrote:Hello, can someone please help me? After I've finished one of the dungeons in Castle Ironfist I can no longer access my female sorc's inventory. Every time I try to open it, the game hard crashes. It's like she had perhaps picked up some glitched item or something? Casting Fire Aura /w her crashes the game as well. Tested with a fresh install on both HW and SW, same behavior. Do I have to start over :/?

Error log: https://pastebin.com/xju0N9tn

Save game (idk how to attach files to posts here): https://www84.zippyshare.com/v/UkmZWwGT/file.html


With your savegame I see the crash as well. I submitted an issue on your behalf: https://gitlab.com/templayer/mmmerge/-/issues/553

UPD: investigating now. BTW even in the worst case you can dismiss your sorceress and hire someone else, rather than start over.
Last edited by andrey on Apr 3 2020, 17:20, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andrey
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 29 Jul 2019
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby andrey » Apr 3 2020, 19:40

Nerval wrote:


You might want to check issue discussion. Rodril wrote a workaround for you.

Can you copy-paste this to debug console, execute, and see if the error is gone?

Code: Select all

   mem.asmpatch(0x41a38a, [[
   je absolute 0x41a4f1
   cmp eax, dword [ds:0x454085];
   jg absolute 0x41a4f1]])


You can call debug console by pressing Ctrl-F1. To execute a command press Ctrl-Enter.

UPD: I tried it with your save. It worked for me - afterwards I could enter inventory normally.
Last edited by andrey on Apr 3 2020, 19:42, edited 1 time in total.

Nerval
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Nerval » Apr 3 2020, 20:01

andrey wrote:
Nerval wrote:


You might want to check issue discussion. Rodril wrote a workaround for you.

Can you copy-paste this to debug console, execute, and see if the error is gone?

Code: Select all

   mem.asmpatch(0x41a38a, [[
   je absolute 0x41a4f1
   cmp eax, dword [ds:0x454085];
   jg absolute 0x41a4f1]])


You can call debug console by pressing Ctrl-F1. To execute a command press Ctrl-Enter.

UPD: I tried it with your save. It worked for me - afterwards I could enter inventory normally.


So I do ctrl+f1, then press ctrl+v to paste it and then press ctrl+enter. It returns a seemingly random string of numbers in the console but still crashes when trying to access inventory. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong, could you maybe upload the save file (or just PM it to me) with the fix already in place? Would really appreciate it.

User avatar
andrey
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 29 Jul 2019
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby andrey » Apr 3 2020, 20:24

Nerval wrote:So I do ctrl+f1, then press ctrl+v to paste it and then press ctrl+enter. It returns a seemingly random string of numbers in the console but still crashes when trying to access inventory. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong, could you maybe upload the save file (or just PM it to me) with the fix already in place? Would really appreciate it.


Sure: https://gitlab.com/templayer/mmmerge/up ... ave017.dod

I hope I did not get lost in save numbers, and it is really your save :-)

Nerval
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Nerval » Apr 3 2020, 20:34

Crap, gives me an error when it finishes loading: https://pastebin.com/9kcEtHCx
Loads afterwards, but still does the same thing.
Anyway, thanks a lot for trying to help. However, I think at this point it will be easier to just start a new game, lol.
Edit: oh and to dismiss, I think I have to double click on her character portrait, which crashes the game, unless there is another way?
Last edited by Nerval on Apr 3 2020, 20:35, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andrey
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 29 Jul 2019
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby andrey » Apr 3 2020, 20:42

Nerval wrote:Crap, gives me an error when it finishes loading: https://pastebin.com/9kcEtHCx
Loads afterwards, but still does the same thing.
Anyway, thanks a lot for trying to help. However, I think at this point it will be easier to just start a new game, lol.
Edit: oh and to dismiss, I think I have to double click on her character portrait, which crashes the game, unless there is another way?


And I think I know what happened:

Comment from
cthscr wrote:You're doing it wrong. Your savegame is faulty for unpatched versions. Use Party[2].Inventory[94]=0 if you want produce non-faulty savegame.

User avatar
andrey
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 29 Jul 2019
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby andrey » Apr 3 2020, 20:44


User avatar
andrey
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 29 Jul 2019
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby andrey » Apr 3 2020, 20:47

Nerval wrote:Edit: oh and to dismiss, I think I have to double click on her character portrait, which crashes the game, unless there is another way?


It does not crash, if you don't see the inventory. You can click another character, select stats or skills, switch to faulty character, and then dismiss her. I already did it when playing around with your save.
Last edited by andrey on Apr 3 2020, 20:47, edited 1 time in total.

Nerval
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Nerval » Apr 3 2020, 21:00

Actually it crashed for me even on the skills or stats tab o_O
Your save still gave me an error.
However, the inventory problem is fixed, can access it normally now. With the previous save, the game still crashed. No crashes now.
Something is wrong, though: https://gyazo.com/a01e74acb42729d13d132303768f8895
Probably related to the error? Don't know if it's the same error as the last one, but here it is just in case: https://pastebin.com/c159QVZQ
Last edited by Nerval on Apr 3 2020, 21:02, edited 1 time in total.

Rodril
Demon
Demon
Posts: 342
Joined: 18 Nov 2016

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Rodril » Apr 3 2020, 22:16

Nerval wrote:Probably related to the error? Don't know if it's the same error as the last one, but here it is just in case: https://pastebin.com/c159QVZQ

It seems like another one. What installation do you have? GOG version + game files 29.03.2020 without localization, correct? Could you make savegame after this console popup and send it to me?

Nerval
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Nerval » Apr 3 2020, 22:31

Rodril wrote:
Nerval wrote:Probably related to the error? Don't know if it's the same error as the last one, but here it is just in case: https://pastebin.com/c159QVZQ

It seems like another one. What installation do you have? GOG version + game files 29.03.2020 without localization, correct? Could you make savegame after this console popup and send it to me?


GOG+29.03 files, no localization.
Also, now it says that my knight is a necromancer, and my cleric a dark elf. Sorcerers turned into (null)(https://gyazo.com/3f3ec6323d8725dbfd838d3d31d72d6d).
Here is the save right after the error. It pops up every time I load that save. I took andrey's save and saved again in another slot, is this correct?
https://www9.zippyshare.com/v/Odx2JcvF/file.html

Rodril
Demon
Demon
Posts: 342
Joined: 18 Nov 2016

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Rodril » Apr 3 2020, 22:45

Use this fixed savegame file instead: https://www.dropbox.com/s/v5ptr6s2d0we1 ... 1.dod?dl=0
And put this file into "Scripts\General" folder, replacing existing: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vlar2dvl6behh ... s.lua?dl=0
Andrey used game build with class changes being tested, so his file was a bit corrupted.
Last edited by Rodril on Apr 3 2020, 22:47, edited 1 time in total.

Nerval
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Nerval » Apr 3 2020, 22:53

Rodril wrote:Use this fixed savegame file instead: https://www.dropbox.com/s/v5ptr6s2d0we1 ... 1.dod?dl=0
And put this file into "Scripts\General" folder, replacing existing: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vlar2dvl6behh ... s.lua?dl=0
Andrey used game build with class changes being tested, so his file was a bit corrupted.


Alright, so this is very, very strange.
The character classes are back to normal, but the game crashes again upon double clicking on my female sorc again.
With the old save I get no crash but messed up classes.
I've no idea what is going on.
Edit: I should also mention that the new save doesn't generate any errors.
Last edited by Nerval on Apr 3 2020, 22:56, edited 1 time in total.


Nerval
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Nerval » Apr 3 2020, 23:05



Result:
https://gyazo.com/353522760accd4c638a085c7882dfbe2

Perfect, thank you!
You guys are doing an amazing job with the support.
This mod is a dream come true.
Off to playing some more!

User avatar
andrey
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 96
Joined: 29 Jul 2019
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby andrey » Apr 4 2020, 9:02

Hello everyone!

In almost all MM7 and MM8 lands there are pedestals with tests/challenges etc. that give you skill points if your stat is high enough. In some places it is very visible, in some places it is quite well hidden. After knowing the game for years, suddenly yesterday I found a pedestal in Nighon :-)

Are there such challenges in Tatalia and Garrote Gorge? Those are only two lands AFAIR that don't have it (or I was not attentive enough).

So far the only place with more than one challenge is Ravenshore. Or are there more?

User avatar
J. M. Sower
Scout
Scout
Posts: 172
Joined: 25 Jan 2016

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby J. M. Sower » Apr 4 2020, 9:17

Hello, can anyone help me? I'm using in my mod some scripts from Merge, and last time I noticed that "Class Starting Stats" table is available from the level of game by scripts, but the values in it are not changing anything in game and all classes have default stats. Maybe this is related with that division to classes and races in Merge, because I stayed in my mod with just classes like in original MM8. I don't know where can be the cause of this problem... :wall: Any hint what scripts can be responsible for it?

Edit: Hmm... ok, I found that problem is with CharacterOutfits script. When I removed this part, stats are ok, but there will be no problems because of that modification?

Code: Select all

   -- Use race to define starting stats
   TmpTable = {0x4c6a17, 0x4c6a55, 0x4c6ab3, 0x4c6aea, 0x48fa84, 0x4903cf, 0x4903e6,
            0x4903fd, 0x490414, 0x49042b, 0x490442, 0x490459, 0x48f87d, 0x48f6eb}

   local NewCode = mem.asmproc([[
   movsx eax, byte [ds:ecx+0x353]
   imul eax, eax, ]] .. LineSize .. [[;
   add eax, ]] .. PortraitsTablePtr .. [[;
   movsx eax, byte [ds:eax+0x3f];
   retn]])

   for k,v in pairs(TmpTable) do
      mem.asmpatch(v, "call absolute " .. NewCode)
   end
Last edited by J. M. Sower on Apr 4 2020, 10:39, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
SpectralDragon
Hunter
Hunter
Posts: 549
Joined: 15 May 2019

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby SpectralDragon » Apr 4 2020, 12:08

cthscr wrote: :gong:

I´ve noticed that the Gold Dragon in the Issue has a rogue pixel on his "bod" paperdoll. Here is the .zip that has it removed:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Gb7m9 ... aWtGdaSisf

Good Luck.
Last edited by SpectralDragon on Apr 4 2020, 14:12, edited 2 times in total.
Yes?

User avatar
Phobos
Demon
Demon
Posts: 317
Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Location: Finland

Re: Might and Magic 6, 7, 8 merge based on mm8 engine. [upd. 29.03.2020]

Postby Phobos » Apr 4 2020, 17:20

andrey wrote:Are there such challenges in Tatalia and Garrote Gorge? Those are only two lands AFAIR that don't have it (or I was not attentive enough).

So far the only place with more than one challenge is Ravenshore. Or are there more?
There is one in Tatalia, but I haven't found one in Garrote Gorge. To my knowledge, Ravenshore is the only place with two pedestals.


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests