MM7 Draw Distance.

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).

Moderator: Moderators

Glergo
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Apr 2012

MM7 Draw Distance.

Postby Glergo » Apr 5 2012, 21:08

Hello,

I've tried to search the forums, but to no avail.

Is there a way to increase the draw distance in the game?

:)

User avatar
unknownone
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 126
Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Location: Italy

Postby unknownone » Apr 5 2012, 22:39

I think that it's not possible, sorry
I've played and enjoyed many RPGs:
MM6,MM7,MM8,MM9, Fallout 1&2, Planescape Torment, Torment: ToN, TES3, TES4

Glergo
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Apr 2012

Postby Glergo » Apr 6 2012, 10:13

We could maybe make it so the game uses an OpenGL render, a new version and then we can make some tweaks to it. I see no problems with rendering the whole worlds you visit now with the computers that re available today.

User avatar
solitaire345
Peasant
Peasant
Posts: 88
Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Postby solitaire345 » Apr 6 2012, 14:17

I see problems in implementing this into existing exe with no source code published. It's possible, however it is probably a hard task and not much worth doing.

Glergo
Leprechaun
Leprechaun
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Apr 2012

Postby Glergo » Apr 6 2012, 15:55

I'm gonna look into this. Has anyone decompiled the main executable? Does anyone know where mm7setup.exe stores the settings?

User avatar
GrayFace
Round Table Hero
Round Table Hero
Posts: 1542
Joined: 29 Nov 2005

Postby GrayFace » Apr 7 2012, 8:16

Create mm6.ini in game folder with this inside:
[shading]
dist_mist=11000

This is how far you can get it. The ground can't be rendered further. It seems the game hits the limit of drawn polygons or something like that.
Nomad is working on decompiling the whole game into C code. There's also an unfinished modern rendering there, just what you're proposing. Here's the project: http://www.assembla.com/code/bb7/
mm7setup.exe stores settings in registry. See HKLM/Software/New World Computing/...
My patches: MM6 MM7 MM8. MMExtension. Tools. Also, I love Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground. I'm also known as sergroj.

Nomad
Pixie
Pixie
Posts: 130
Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Location: Kaliningrad, Russian Federation
Contact:

Postby Nomad » Apr 12 2012, 16:10

True. Number of triangles per frame is fixed and should you try to draw the entire map - only first or last n will be drawn.
Terrain, sprites and 3ds model, however, have diffirent draw triangle buffers.


Return to “Might and Magic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests