Starting to play M&M

The role-playing games (I-X) that started it all and the various spin-offs (including Dark Messiah).
Ya5MieL
Marksman
Marksman

Starting to play M&M

Unread postby Ya5MieL » 23 Sep 2007, 21:01

I finally got my hands on Might and Magic game, specifically M&M 6, and started playing it.
My RPG experience is mostly based on DND-rules games (BG, IWD, KOTOR...), so i might have troubles adjusting to a new system.

OK, I installed the game on Vista, and it works perfectly (who would have thought).
Downloaded patches from Celestial heavens.

Launched the game....
oookkkk... what have we here, 4 characters, seems similar to icewind dale setup.
I studied the stats and skill for a while to get a feeling of how they work.
After a while i decided to go with Knight+Archer+Cleric+Sorcerer.

A half week of playing later:

I'm still in first town,.. managed to beat some goblin horde and aprentice mages that were outside on the map. After some trouble managed to clean out the goblin fort as well. But here is where problems start:

In the temple NW of town, there seem to be quite strong monsters for my level. Specificaly cobras. Now, since i use the rest option like madman i suppose i will clean the dungeon up eventually but i wonder if i'm missing something, something that should make this easier. Or is hit and run what you are supposed to do in the first stages of the game.

Can someone more experienced answer?

jeff

Unread postby jeff » 23 Sep 2007, 21:24